## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 149

## By Harmon

## A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association Hall of Fame inductees of 2011.

WHEREAS, the Tennessee General Assembly is pleased to specially honor and commend those citizens and educators who, through their unwavering dedication and unflagging commitment to excellence, have distinguished themselves as community leaders of whom we can all be proud; and

WHEREAS, the eleven 2011 Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) Hall of Fame inductees are such noteworthy individuals who have devoted their lives to the education and instruction of young students and athletes; and

WHEREAS, organized in 1925, the TSSAA is a voluntary, nonprofit, self-supported organization, conceived by teachers, principals, and superintendents and administered by carefully chosen individuals; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of the Association is to stimulate and regulate the athletic relations of the secondary schools in Tennessee, coordinating athletic and scholastic programs and promoting the development of character, integrity, sportsmanship, and teamwork; and

WHEREAS, with 347 schools in its membership, the TSSAA sponsors men's and women's basketball, track, tennis, volleyball, cross country, soccer, and golf, as well as football, wrestling, baseball, and softball; and

WHEREAS, the twelve people inducted into the 2010 TSSAA Hall of Fame include two administrators, five coaches, three officials, and two contributors; and

WHEREAS, these honorable individuals are: Ronnie Carter, O'Neal Henley, Tommy Layne, Robert Raikes, J.C. Campbell, Johnny Morgan, Gary Rankin, Jake Rudolph, Don Lady, Don Sutton, Jean Griffith, and Larry Taft; and

WHEREAS, Ronnie Carter taught mathematics and coached several sports at the secondary school level for eleven years before accepting the position of Assistant Executive Director of the TSSAA in 1978. In 1986, he was named as the Executive Director and he held that vaunted post until his retirement in 2009, carving out an impressive career marked by a commitment to excellence; and

WHEREAS, O'Neal Henley of Jackson coached high school athletics, including the sports of girls' basketball, football, and track, for seventeen years before being named the Offensive Coordinator at Lambuth University in 1985, but his leadership was not limited to the field of play. He also served as the assistant principal of North Side High School for twelve years, as the principal and athletics director at North Side for six years, as the principal of JCM for six years, and as the assistant superintendant of the Jackson-Madison County School System for one year; and

WHEREAS, in addition to serving as the current principal of Sequatchie County High School, Tommy Layne also dedicated twenty-four years to coaching numerous high school teams in the sports of football, baseball, softball, and boys' and girls' basketball, most notably serving as the head coach of the Whitwell High School basketball team for twenty-three years; and

WHEREAS, Robert "Bud" Raikes dedicated fourteen years to coaching several juniorand senior-high athletic teams while teaching in Rutherford County and, for the past thirty-seven years, he has committed himself unwaveringly to the pursuit of excellence during his tenure as the principal of Smyrna High School; and

WHEREAS, J.C. Campbell served as the head football coach at Hampton High School for forty-one years, during which his teams achieved twenty-five winning seasons, eleven conference championships, and a record of 275 wins, 166 losses, and one tie; and

WHEREAS, Johnny Morgan has coached the McMinn County High School girls' basketball team since 1978, guiding the Chargerettes to more than seven hundred wins, ten

- 2 -

00458935

state tournament appearances, and state tournament runner-up finishes in 1997, 2004, and 2010; and

WHEREAS, Gary Rankin, who was the assistant football coach at Warren County High School from 1976-1981; the head coach, athletic director and assistant principal at Smith County High School from 1981-1989; the head coach and athletic director at Riverdale High School from 1990-2005; and is currently serving as the head coach and assistant principal at Alcoa High School, has lead his teams to nine state championships and thirteen undefeated seasons, has coached thirteen Mr. Football Award winners, and has amassed 308 wins, the fifth-highest in state history; and

WHEREAS, the late Jake Rudolph was the head football coach at Memphis University School for thirty-nine years, during which time he lead his teams to 295 wins, sixteen appearances in the playoffs, and one state title, the 1985 Class AA Championship; and

WHEREAS, Don Lady, who retired as the assistant principal and athletic director of Sullivan East High School in 2002 after a long and distinguished career, has served as an umpire for high school baseball games for forty years, during which time he has umpired numerous district and regional tournaments and three state tournaments; and

WHEREAS, Don Sutton has served as an official in several high school sports for more than thirty years. He is a longtime member of the Memphis Baseball Umpires Association, the Memphis Basketball Officials Association, the Mid-South Football Officials Association, and the Memphis Metro Volleyball Officials Association, and he was awarded the TSSAA Distinguished Service Recognition in 1998 and the A.F. Bridges Excellence Award in 2000; and

WHEREAS, Jean Griffith is a contributor who has worked closely with high school athletics for more than twenty-five years, organizing hospitality rooms during basketball tournaments and keeping score during countless athletic matches, games, meets, and tournaments; and

WHEREAS, Larry Taft, who during a long and distinguished career as a newspaperman, has worked for *The Tennessean*, *The Knoxville News Sentinel*, and *The Democrat-Union* of Lawrenceburg, and has covered high school sports and the TSSAA since 1977; and

- 3 -

00458935

WHEREAS, these twelve individuals are men and women of true character and commitment, exemplifying the type of selfless community servants and civic leaders whom fellow Tennesseans admire for their tireless efforts in molding the State's youth, guiding them with solid principles and high standards in every aspect of their lives; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby join with the family, friends, and colleagues of these twelve distinguished individuals in celebrating their induction into the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association Hall of Fame, commending them on their substantial legacy as teachers, administrators, coaches, officials, and contributors, and honoring their steadfast dedication to all Tennessee student-athletes.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.