## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 117

## By Boyd

## A RESOLUTION to honor Friendship Christian School's Commanders on winning the Division II, Class A State Football Championship.

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly are pleased to specially honor and commend those successful high school teams that, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors for this State; and

WHEREAS, the Friendship Christian School Commanders football team achieved an extraordinary level of success during the 2022 season, winning the coveted Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) Division II, Class A State Football Championship; and

WHEREAS, the Commanders battled it out on the gridiron to make their way to the BlueCross Bowl championship game on December 1, 2022, at Finley Stadium in Chattanooga, where they bested their opponents 34-27 in the title matchup; and

WHEREAS, state championships are achieved only through hard work, dedication, and the ability to work together as a team and excel with a cooperative spirit; the Commanders exhibited each of these rare qualities during their championship season; and

WHEREAS, the football players of Friendship Christian School epitomize all that is good in today's student athletes, as they have achieved the highest level of success on the field while showing the highest degree of character both on and off the field; they inspired their fellow students and united the entire community during their triumphant run through the 2022 season; and WHEREAS, the dedication, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young men not only made possible a championship football season but also surely bode well for their success in every future endeavor; and

WHEREAS, the members of the championship team are Channing Anthony, Evan Bare, Will Barnwell, Car'Lando Barton, Wilson Boyd, Brendan Boykin, Caleb Brown, Carson Canon, Cason Carman, Aiden Caron, Avry Corley, Dylan Davenport, Zach Davis, Garrett de Araujo Jorge, Chase Eakes, Luke Freeman, Cullen Graves, Mason Hallum, Weston Hines, Hayden Holleman, Parker Johnson, Aaron Lane, Devin Lively, Gavin McMillen, Brock Montgomery, Karson Moss, Reagan Nelson, Reid Powers, JJ Pruneau, Sammy Pruneau, Evan Pryor, Ryan Putman, Luke Sellars, Tyler Smiley, Bradyn Stringer, Will Thompson, Austin Weatherford, Garrett Weekly, Landon Williams, and Tyson Wolcott; and

WHEREAS, the amazing achievement of these young men was facilitated by the committed work of their head coach, John McNeal, and the team's highly competent assistant coaches: Shaun Caven, Justin Hallum, Ben Johnson, Gary Lively, Broc Loveless, Duane Lowe, Bradley Rowlett, LC Satterfield, Michael Wheeler, and Kevin Wolcott; and

WHEREAS, we find it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud the Commanders football players of Friendship Christian School for serving as exemplars of the high quality of the youth of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate the players, coaching staff, team support staff, administrators, cheerleaders, and fans of the Friendship Christian School Commanders football team on winning the 2022 TSSAA Division II, Class A State Football Championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to

- 2 -

the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.