HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 115

By Lynn

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the City of Mt. Juliet upon the fiftieth anniversary of its incorporation.

WHEREAS, we take pleasure in observing special occasions that preserve and celebrate the history of the municipalities that comprise this great State; and

WHEREAS, the City of Mt. Juliet and its citizens are most assuredly deserving of recognition as they celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the incorporation of Mt. Juliet; and

WHEREAS, in 1972, the City of Mt. Juliet was incorporated under the provisions of the Tennessee Constitution to provide services to the citizens within its corporate limits; and

WHEREAS, during the half century since its incorporation, Mt. Juliet has experienced tremendous growth and prosperity and continues its commitment to serve its citizens; and

WHEREAS, throughout the past fifty years, the good people of Mt. Juliet have been ably governed by a number of accomplished leaders, including city commissioners Robert W. Bull, Neland C. Hibbitt, and Homer Dean Tomlinson, elected February 27, 1973; Homer Dean Tomlinson, elected February 27, 1975; Don Atwood and Jenny G. Hibbett, elected February 24, 1977; William B. Staggs, Jr., elected February 22, 1979; Don Atwood and Jenny G. Hibbett, elected February 26, 1981; and

WHEREAS, additional commissioners include Grady E. Lynn, elected on February 24, 1983; Wayne L. Crawford, Luther C. Lenning, Bill Patton, and Fred M. Weston, elected March 19, 1985; Ed Binkley, Frank Henderson, and Fred M. Weston, elected February 26, 1987; Wayne L. Crawford and James L. Page, elected February 23, 1989; Ed Binkley, Frank Henderson, and Fred M. Weston, elected February 28, 1991; and

WHEREAS, Mayor David J. Waynick and Commissioner C. Michael Sowell were elected on February 25, 1993; Mayor Waynick was reelected on February 27, 1997, and commissioners

Dave Scott, District 1, Jeffrey L. Clark, District 2, C. Michael Sowell, District 3, and Jim Bradshaw, District 4, were elected on that date; District 2 Commissioner Kevin Mack and District 4 Commissioner Jim Bradshaw won election on November 3, 1998; and

WHEREAS, on November 7, 2000, Kevin Mack was elected mayor, along with Ray Justice, who was elected District 1 Commissioner, and Ed Hagerty, who was elected District 3 Commissioner; Linda Elam won election as District 2 Commissioner on November 5, 2002, and Jim Bradshaw was again elected District 4 Commissioner on that same date; and

WHEREAS, on November 2, 2004, Linda Elam won election as mayor and both Ray Justice and Ed Hagerty won reelection to their positions as District 1 and District 3 commissioners, respectively; Will Sellers was elected commissioner of District 2, and Jim Bradshaw won reelection as commissioner of District 4 on November 7, 2006; and

WHEREAS, on November 4, 2008, Linda Elam won election to a second term as mayor, and Winston "Ted" Floyd was elected commissioner of District 1, and Ed Hagerty was reelected commissioner of District 3; James Maness was elected commissioner of District 2, and Jim Bradshaw was again elected commissioner of District 4 on November 2, 2010; and

WHEREAS, Ed Hagerty was elected mayor on November 6, 2012, and Ray Justice was reelected District 1 Commissioner, and Art Giles was elected District 3 Commissioner on that date; on November 4, 2014, James Maness was reelected commissioner of District 2, and Brian Abston was elected commissioner of District 4; and

WHEREAS, James Maness was elected mayor on November 3, 2020, along with Vice Mayor Ray Justice and commissioners Scott Hefner, District 3, and Jennifer Milele, District 4; Commissioner Bill Trivett won election to District 2, and Commissioner Jennifer Milele was reelected to District 4 on November 8, 2022; and

- 2 - 002061

WHEREAS, the citizens of Mt. Juliet are extremely proud of their historic community and have been ever vigilant in keeping the fair city's heritage visible to the community and the State as a whole; and

WHEREAS, the citizens of Mt. Juliet have added and continue to add immeasurably to the strength and character of Tennessee; their history and accomplishments have helped to build the cultural richness for which this State is known; and

WHEREAS, it is most appropriate that we honor this fine community and its citizenry as they commemorate this significant milestone in their historic existence; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate the City of Mt. Juliet and its citizens upon the fiftieth anniversary of the city's incorporation and extend our best wishes for continued success, growth, and prosperity.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 3 - 002061