HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 93

By Cooper

A RESOLUTION to recognize Tennessee women elected to public office in 2018.

WHEREAS, 2018 was a historic year for women in politics; nationally, women broke records for the number of candidates for governor, the United States House of Representatives, and the United States Senate; and

WHEREAS, not only did more women run for office than ever before, a record number of women were elected; a historic 102 female Representatives and twenty-five female Senators comprise the 116th United States Congress; and

WHEREAS, 2018 saw a record number of female candidates at the state level in Tennessee as well, with forty-seven women running for seats in the Senate and House of Representatives and sixteen being elected; and

WHEREAS, those women elected to the Tennessee General Assembly in 2018 are Senator Raumesh Akbari, Senator Brenda Gilmore, Senator Katrina Robinson, Senator Dawn White, Representative Karen Camper, Representative Barbara Cooper, Representative Patsy Hazlewood, Representative Esther Helton, Representative Gloria Johnson, Representative London Lamar, Representative Mary Littleton, Representative Susan Lynn, Representative Debra Moody, Representative Iris Rudder, Representative Robin Smith, and Representative Terri Lynn Weaver; and

WHEREAS, of these capable, exceptional women, Representative Karen Camper was named House Minority Leader, making her the first African American to serve in this position, and Representative Susan Lynn was appointed by Speaker Glen Casada to serve as the first female chairman of the Tennessee House, Ways and Means Finance Committee; and

WHEREAS, this banner year for female elected officials in Tennessee comes ninety-seven years after Senator Anna Lee Worley became the first woman elected to serve in the General Assembly and only fifty-two years after Representative Dorothy Lavinia Brown became the first African-American woman elected to serve that august body, which first met 222 years ago in the winter of 1796; and

WHEREAS, the pantheon of pioneering women in the Tennessee General Assembly also includes Marion Griffin, elected in 1923 as the first woman to hold a seat in the House of Representatives, and Thelma Harper, elected in 1990 to serve as the first African-American woman in the Senate; and

WHEREAS, the election of the distinguished women of Tennessee in 2018 is a testament to the ability and devotion with which women lead and serve their constituents; and

WHEREAS, it is most fitting that we honor the elected women of Tennessee on this auspicious occasion; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate the Tennessee women who were elected to public office in 2018, extending our best wishes to each as she devotes herself to serving the citizens of this State.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.