<BillNo> <Sponsor>

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 42

## By Hawk

## A RESOLUTION relative to the confirmation of appointments to the state university board of the University of Memphis.

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-101, provides for the governance of the University of Memphis by a state university board; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, provides that the governor shall appoint eight (8) members to the state university board of the University of Memphis; and

WHEREAS, the eight (8) gubernatorial appointees of the state university board of the University of Memphis shall be joined by a faculty member of the institution who shall be selected by a method determined by the faculty senate and a non-voting student member who shall be appointed by the state university board; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, further provides that at least three (3) of the gubernatorial appointees shall be alumni of the institution for which they are serving and that at least six (6) of the nine (9) voting members of the state university board shall be residents of the state of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201(f)(2)(A), provides that the initial terms of the members appointed by the governor to a state university board shall be three (3), four (4), and six (6) years. Three (3) members shall serve a three-year term; three (3) members shall serve a four-year term; and two (2) members shall serve a six-year term; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed G. Douglas Edwards, Jr., of Memphis, David A. North of Memphis, and Carol Roberts of Collierville to the state university board of the University of Memphis, each for a term of three (3) years; and WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Marvin Ellison of Dallas, Texas, Cato Johnson of Bartlett, and Susan Springfield of Memphis to the state university board of the University of Memphis, each for a term of four (4) years; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Alan Graf of Memphis and R. Brad Martin of Memphis to the state university board of the University of Memphis, each for a term of six (6) years; and

WHEREAS, G. Douglas Edwards, Jr., is a senior advisor at BBH Capital Partners and former chief executive officer of Morgan Keegan & Company, Incorporated; he is a graduate of the University of Memphis; and

WHEREAS, David A. North is the president and chief executive officer of Sedgwick Claims Management Services; and

WHEREAS, Carol Roberts is the senior vice president and chief financial officer of International Paper Company; she is a graduate of Yale University; and

WHEREAS, Marvin Ellison is chief executive officer and chairman of the Board at J.C. Penney Company, Incorporated; he is a graduate of the University of Memphis and Emory University; and

WHEREAS, Cato Johnson is the senior vice president of public policy and regulatory affairs at Methodist Healthcare; he received both his Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees from the University of Memphis; and

WHEREAS, Susan Springfield is executive vice president and chief credit officer for First Horizon National Corporation; she earned her bachelor's degree in management and her master's degree in business administration and finance at the University of Memphis; and

WHEREAS, Alan Graf is the executive vice president and chief financial officer of FedEx Corporation; he holds a bachelor's degree and a master's degree in business administration from Indiana University; and WHEREAS, R. Brad Martin is the retired chairman and chief executive officer of Saks Incorporated, chairman of RBM Ventures, and former interim president of the University of Memphis; he is a graduate of the University of Memphis and Vanderbilt University; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, provides that each member appointed by the governor to the state university board of the University of Memphis shall be subject to confirmation by the senate and the house of representatives; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED TENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of G. Douglas Edwards, Jr., to the state university board of the University of Memphis for a term that will expire on June 30, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of David A. North to the state university board of the University of Memphis for a term that will expire on June 30, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Carol Roberts to the state university board of the University of Memphis for a term that will expire on June 30, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Marvin Ellison to the state university board of the University of Memphis for a term that will expire on June 30, 2021.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Cato Johnson to the state university board of the University of Memphis for a term that will expire on June 30, 2021.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Susan Springfield to the state university board of the University of Memphis for a term that will expire on June 30, 2021.

001907

- 3 -

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Alan Graf to the state university board of the University of Memphis for a term that will expire on June 30, 2023.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of R. Brad Martin to the state university board of the University of Memphis for a term that will expire on June 30, 2023.