## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 29

## By Beck

## A RESOLUTION to honor Derrick Henry upon winning the 2020 National Football League rushing title with more than 2,000 yards.

WHEREAS, this General Assembly is pleased to recognize a superb athlete who has brought National Football League (NFL) opponents to their knees with his punishing running style and incomparable speed in the open field; and

WHEREAS, Derrick Henry, renowned running back for the Tennessee Titans, captured the 2020 NFL rushing title (2,027 yards with an average of 5.4 yards per carry in 378 attempts) and also led the league in rushing touchdowns with seventeen and rushing yards per game average with 126.7; and

WHEREAS, in claiming the rushing crown for the second consecutive season, King Henry became only the eighth player in NFL history to rush for 2,000 or more yards in a season, joining four Hall of Fame inductees in attaining this lofty plateau; and

WHEREAS, he surpassed 100 yards rushing in seven games this season, running for 116 yards against Denver, 119 yards and two touchdowns versus Minnesota, 112 yards and a touchdown in the Cincinnati game, 103 yards in the first Indianapolis contest, 133 yards and a touchdown versus Baltimore, 178 yards and three touchdowns in the victorious rematch against the Colts, and 147 yards and a touchdown in the Detroit game; and

WHEREAS, in an even more astounding feat, Derrick Henry rushed for 200 or more yards in three games this season, posting 212 yards and two touchdowns in the first Houston tilt, 215 yards and two touchdowns in the second Jacksonville game, and 250 yards and two touchdowns in the Houston rematch; and WHEREAS, these remarkable accomplishments earned Derrick Henry his second consecutive All-Pro selection; more importantly, his superior performance was instrumental in the Titans winning the AFC South title with an 11-5 record and reaching the playoffs; and

WHEREAS, in only his fifth NFL season, Derrick Henry has attained the acme of professional football as the league's 2020 leader in rushing yards, rushing touchdowns, and rushing yards per game average and only the eighth 2,000-yard rusher in history, and his many accomplishments on the gridiron are worthy of our approbation; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED TWELFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor Derrick Henry upon winning the 2020 National Football League rushing title with 2,027 yards, commend and applaud his superhuman exploits on the gridiron, and extend to him our best wishes for an even better 2021 season.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.