## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 27

## By Beck

## A RESOLUTION to honor the Tennessee Titans as American Football Conference South Division champions.

WHEREAS, after making an inspired playoff run to the American Football Conference (AFC) Championship Game in 2019, the Tennessee Titans, one of the most beloved and most dynamic football teams in this State's illustrious gridiron history, excelled once again in 2020 to claim the AFC South Division championship with an impressive 11-5 record; and

WHEREAS, to the great delight of their many fans across the Volunteer State, the 2020 Titans featured a potent offense that ranked second overall in yards gained and fourth overall in points scored and the leading rusher, Derrick Henry, in the National Football League (NFL); and

WHEREAS, the Titans began the 2020 season in high gear with five consecutive wins, including three victories of three points or less, an overtime thriller against Houston, and a 42-16 blowout of the AFC East Division champion Buffalo Bills; and

WHEREAS, after faltering in mid-season, the Titans posted an exciting overtime win against Baltimore, revenged a loss to division-rival Indianapolis, destroyed Jacksonville and Detroit, and once again bested Houston to finish the season on a 5-2 winning streak; and

WHEREAS, in Week 17, replacement kicker Sam Slocum converted a field goal as time expired to claim both the victory over Houston and the AFC South crown; and

WHEREAS, in addition to King Henry's 2,027 yards and seventeen touchdowns on the ground, the Titans were fortunate to have the arm and leadership of quarterback Ryan Tannehill, who threw thirty-three touchdown passes, rushed for seven additional scores, and posted the sixth-best quarterback rating in the NFL; and

WHEREAS, his outstanding targets included tight end Jonnu Smith with forty-one catches for 448 yards and eight touchdowns and two emerging wide receivers who had career years; and

WHEREAS, second-year wideout A.J. Brown led the team in three receiving categories with seventy catches, 1,075 yards, and eleven touchdowns, while fourth-year veteran Corey Davis added another 65 catches, 984 yards, and five touchdowns; and

WHEREAS, both Derrick Henry and A.J. Brown deservedly received All-Pro honors; and

WHEREAS, the Titans were once again led by head coach Mike Vrabel, one of the best field generals and most innovative coaches in the NFL; and

WHEREAS, playing with the heart and soul of champions throughout the season, the players and coaches of the Tennessee Titans are worthy of our approbation; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED TWELFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor the Tennessee Titans as 2020 American Football Conference South Division champions, thank the team's players and coaches for another exciting and successful season, and extend to them our best wishes for 2021.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.