HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 22

By Shipley

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the Kingsport Board of Education upon being named 2008 School Board of the Year.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly pay tribute to those outstanding organizations that have distinguished themselves in the service of young people; and

WHEREAS, one such noteworthy group is the Kingsport Board of Education, which was recently honored as the 2008 "School Board of the Year" by the Tennessee School Boards
Association (TSBA); and

WHEREAS, the TSBA annually honors a school board for excellent service, and the superintendent, school administrator, board secretary, parent-teacher association, organization, or a member of the board-appointed committee may submit his or her board as a nominee; and

WHEREAS, to meet the criteria for the award, school boards must meet all of the standards of a TSBA Board of Distinction: develop, apply, and monitor policy; be involved in long-range planning; promote quality education through involvement with the legislature, city/county commission, State Board of Education, community, and staff; participate in board development activities, including boardmanship award levels for each member; and exhibit a positive relationship with the media; and

WHEREAS, in presenting the award, TSBA Executive Director Dr. Tammy Grissom cited the Kingsport Board of Education's eight-step policy creation and adoption process and the Board's development of a strategic plan and a five-year capital plan; and

WHEREAS, the Board was praised for its creation of a Brown Bag Lunch program to facilitate communications with parents and the community and the Board's active role in advocating legislative action to positively impact Tennessee's public schools; and

WHEREAS, four of the five Board members have achieved Level II Boardmanship or higher; individual Board members have also played key roles in leadership at the state and national levels, with Board President Susan Lodal serving as the chair of the Tennessee Legislative Network and on the Tennessee School Boards Association Board of Directors and member Wally Boyd serving as the Federal Relations Network Northeast District Coordinator; and

WHEREAS, in addition to Susan Lodal and Wally Boyd, the award-winning Kingsport
Board of Education is comprised of Vice President Dr. Randy Montgomery and members Pat
Turner and Ron George; and

WHEREAS, this accolade earned by the Kingsport Board of Education is a testament to the board members' devotion and commitment to the young people of Kingsport and shines a beacon upon their system as a premier example of educational excellence in the great State of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED SIXTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate the Kingsport Board of Education upon being named the 2008 Tennessee School Board of the Year and extend our heartiest thanks to the Board members for their outstanding service to the children of Kingsport.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

- 2 - 00192550