## South Dakota Legislature

## **Senate Commemoration 825**

Introduced by: Senator Wiik and Representatives Deutsch and Mills

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring the Deuel County High School Gymnastics Team for winning the 2020 State A Gymnastics Championship.

WHEREAS, the Deuel Cardinals gymnastics team was exemplary in its unity and the accord of all its players: Morgan Kwasniewski, Paige Simon, Elise Hotzler, Brooklyn Peterson, Annabelle Hawley, Zoe Schake, Rachel Blue, Hope Bjerke, Kandi Berndt, and Jadyn Reppe; and

WHEREAS, the players and head coach Caitlin Steffensen and assistant coach Billie Jo Giesel showed outstanding character and dedication both in and out of the gym; and

WHEREAS, the students, faculty, fans, and community of the Deuel County High School Gymnastics Team showed great spirit and sportsmanship to help lead the team to the goal of winning the State A Championship three consecutive years:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Ninety-Fifth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Legislature congratulates and commends the Deuel County Gymnastics High School Gymnastics Team and its coaching staff for their excellent performances in the 2020 season.