South Dakota Legislature

Senate Commemoration 824

Introduced by: **Senators** Bolin, Lake, Nesiba, Novstrup, Schoenbeck, Soholt, and Wiik and **Representatives** Anderson, Bordeaux, Duba, Finck, Hunhoff, Kevin Jensen, Johns, Perry, and Reed

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring the 2019-2020 Canton C-Hawk High School wrestling team for its outstanding accomplishments.

WHEREAS, the C-Hawk wrestling team is led by coaches Jeremy Ask and Jeremy Swenson; and

WHEREAS, the C-Hawk wrestling team achieved a dual record of 24-0 and now has a winning streak of 110, a state record for any class; and

WHEREAS, the C-Hawk wrestling team has won eight consecutive region titles; and

WHEREAS, the C-Hawk wrestling team won the state Class B dual team championship; and

WHEREAS, the C-Hawk wrestling team won its third straight state Class B individual title, amassing a team total of 240.5 points, the most scored by any team in any class in the history of South Dakota high school wrestling; and

WHEREAS, the 2019-2020 C-Hawk wrestling team had twelve place winners, eight finalists, and six state champions, the latter being another all-time state record; and

WHEREAS, the following individuals won state titles for the C-Hawk wrestling team: Andy Meyer (113 lbs.), Braden Sehr (132 lbs.), Kellyn March (138 lbs.), Jaden Dominisee (152 lbs.), Shaeden Scheidt (170 lbs.), and Cullen Rutten (195lbs.):

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Fifth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Legislature commends and honors the 2019-2020 Canton High School wrestling team for its outstanding accomplishments.