South Dakota Legislature

Senate Commemoration 805

Introduced by: **Senators** Bolin, Castleberry, Nesiba, Ernie Otten, Schoenbeck, Soholt, and Wiik and **Representatives** Anderson, Barthel, Bordeaux, Duvall, Finck, Hunhoff, Olson, Herman Otten, Perry, Kent Peterson, Qualm, Rasmussen, Reed, and Steele

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring the 2019 Canton C-Hawk High School football team as champions of the Class 11A football championship.

WHEREAS, the C-Hawks were led by Head Coach Rich Lundstrom, a 1988 graduate of Canton High School; and

WHEREAS, the C-Hawks were led by seniors Joe Beyke, Sage Darnell, Isaac Dietzenbach, Joey Heikkila, Josh Lane, Wyatt Riffey, Schaeden Scheidt, Jarrett Smith, Sam Stahl, Owen Strand, and Kayden Verley; and

WHEREAS, the C-Hawks lost the first two games of the season to Tea Area and Madison to begin the season 0-2 but persevered to win the next five games by a combined margin of 195-0; and

WHEREAS, the C-Hawks concluded the season with two more regular season wins and three playoff victories including the 11A state championship game, with a 46-8 victory over Lennox Orioles, and

WHEREAS, senior Kayden Verley was honored with the Jim Langer award for his dominant performance during the championship game:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Fifth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Legislature honors and commends the 2019 Canton C-Hawk football team and Head Coach Rich Lundstrom, for their achievement of winning the Class 11A football championship.