

2020 South Dakota Legislature

Senate Commemoration 805

Introduced by: Senator Bolin

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring the 2019 Canton C-Hawk High School 1 2 football team as champions of the Class 11A football championship. 3 WHEREAS, the C-Hawks were led by Head Coach Rich Lundstrom, a 1988 graduate of 4 Canton High School; and 5 WHEREAS, the C-Hawks were led by seniors Joe Beyke, Sage Darnell, Isaac Dietzenbach, 6 Joey Heikkila, Josh Lane, Wyatt Riffey, Schaeden Scheidt, Jarrett Smith, Sam Stahl, Owen 7 Strand and Kayden Verley; and 8 WHEREAS, the C-Hawks lost the first two games of the season to Tea Area and Madison to begin the season 0-2 but persevered to win the next five games by a combined margin of 9 10 195-0; and 11 WHEREAS, the C-Hawks concluded the season with two more regular season wins and 12 three play-off victories including the 11A state championship game, with a 46-8 victory over 13 Lennox Orioles, and 14 WHEREAS, senior Kayden Verley was honored with the Jim Langer award for his dominant 15 performance during the championship game: 16 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Fifth Legislature of the State 17 of South Dakota, that the Legislature honors and commends the 2019 Canton C-Hawk football team and Head Coach Rich Lundstrom, for their achievement of winning the Class 11A football 18

championship.

19