South Dakota Legislature



Senate Commemoration 804

Introduced by: **Senators** Zikmund, Bolin, Bordeaux, Castleberry, Crabtree, Deibert, Diedrich, Duhamel, Hunhoff, David Johnson, Jack Kolbeck, Larson, Nesiba, Novstrup, Herman Otten, Pischke, Reed, Rohl, Schoenbeck, Schoenfish, Stalzer, and Wiik and **Representatives** Derby, Aylward, Bahmuller, Bartels, Blare, Duba, Duffy, Emery, Fitzgerald, Koth, Krull, Kull, Massie, Moore, Nelson, Olson, Perry, Pinnow, Pourier, Reisch, Stevens, Tordsen, and Venhuizen

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending the Rapid City Sliders 15U baseball team for representing South Dakota at the Babe Ruth World Series.

WHEREAS, the Rapid City Sliders 15U baseball team, consisting of team members Ian Beer, Mason Brooks, Jackson Dial, Luke Hanzlik, Colton Morlang, Blake Olmsted, Brody Thompson, Will Waddell, Nolan Williamson, Teagan Smith, and Ethan Wilson, and coaching staff Molloy Dial, Bryan Olmsted, Darrick Brooks, and Casey Thompson, had an outstanding regular season and, for the second year in a row, qualified for the Babe Ruth World Series; and

WHEREAS, the Rapid City Sliders won the Midwest Plains Regional Tournament in Rapid City, where they beat teams from North Dakota, Colorado, Missouri, and Minnesota. Team members Jackson Dial, Ian Beer, Luke Hanzlik, and Mason Brooks were voted to the Midwest Plains Regional All-Tournament Team; and

WHEREAS, by winning the Midwest Plains Regional Championship, the Rapid City Sliders qualified to represent South Dakota in the Babe Ruth World Series, where the team earned a top four finish, beating teams from Oregon, Virginia, and Massachusetts. Team member Jackson Dial was voted to the World Series All-Tournament Defensive Team:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Eighth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Rapid City Sliders 15U baseball team had a remarkable 2022 season, capped by their second-consecutive Babe Ruth World Series appearance.