South Dakota Legislature

Senate Commemoration 802

Introduced by: **Senators** Kolbeck, Curd, Nesiba, Partridge, Soholt, Stalzer, and Steinhauer and **Representatives** Barthel, Beal, Duba, Healy, Milstead, Sue Peterson, Jamie Smith, Steele, Sullivan, Willadsen, and Zikmund

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Recognizing and congratulating the Augustana Softball Team, who won the 2019 NCAA DII National Championship, and the students and staff involved in the softball program.

WHEREAS, the Augustana University Softball Team has represented Sioux Falls and the state of South Dakota as the winning champions in the 2019 Division II College Softball National Championship; and

WHEREAS, the Augustana University Softball Team had a total record of 61-11 during the 2019 season and secured the National Championship with a pair of 6-4 wins over Texas A&M Kingsville in Denver, Colorado; and

WHEREAS, the Augustana University Softball Team exhibited dedication, true sportsmanship, commitment, and perseverance in the team's journey to become the top Division II softball team in the nation; and

WHEREAS, Maggie Kadrlik, Ashley Micksch, and Shannon Petersen were all named All-Americans. Five student-athletes were named All-Region and ten named All-Conference; and

WHEREAS, the Augustana University Vikings received outstanding leadership and guidance from head coach Gretta Melsted, along with assistant coaches Nat Wagner and Kelsey Thompson. Following the championship, the National Fastpitch Coaches Association named the trio the National Coaching Staff of the Year; and

WHEREAS, in the 2019 season, the Vikings tied the school-record with 61 wins and broke nine single-season program records, including: runs (491), hits (699), doubles (129), HR (94), RBI (458), total bases (1,155), stolen bases (131), and slugging percentage (.576):

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Fifth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Augustana University Softball Team be commended for being the 2019 Division II Softball National Champions.