SENATE COMMEMORATION NO. 52

Introduced by: Senators Bolin, Kolbeck, and Stalzer and Representatives Jensen (Kevin), Anderson, Clark, Gosch, and Zikmund

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Congratulating and honoring the Canton High School wrestling team and coaches for their outstanding accomplishments during the 2017-2018 season.

WHEREAS, the Canton High School wrestling team received superior coaching from Co-Head Coaches Jeremy Swenson and Jeremy Ask, who have a combined thirty-six years of coaching experience. The team was also instructed by Jeremiah Peterson, Parker Swanson, Kyle Seibel, Cory Garbers, Tyler Maxwell, and Brandon Jarman; and

WHEREAS, the Canton High School wrestling team had an outstanding season, finishing with a dual record of 17-0, holding a current sixty match dual win streak. The team won the Conference Championship at the Dakota XII Conference meet. The team won the Region 2B Championship, making it the sixth year in a row that the Canton C-Hawk High School wrestlers have won the Region Tournament; and

WHEREAS, twelve wrestlers qualified for the State B tournament, a school record tied with the 2016 team for most state qualifiers. The State B qualifiers consisted of 8th grader: Marshall Baldwin; Freshmen: Braden Sehr, Seth Peterson, Jaden Dominesse, and Kaden Laubach; Sophomores: Kellyn March, Shaeden Scheidt, and Cullen Rutten; Juniors: Braxton Trowbridge and Scott Peterson; and Seniors: Payton Smith and Kyle Laubach. The Canton High School wrestling team broke the record for most team points scored at the State B Tournament, scoring 165 points; and

WHEREAS, individual state champions include Payton Smith, Braden Sehr, and Kellyn March. The other state placers include 2nd place Shaeden Scheidt and Braxton Trowbridge, 4th place Jaden Dominesse, and 5th place finishers Scott Peterson and Seth Peterson:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Third Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Legislature honors and congratulates the 2017-2018 Canton High School



Insertions into existing statutes are indicated by <u>underscores</u>. Deletions from existing statutes are indicated by overstrikes. wrestling team and their coaches for their outstanding performance earning them a team championship title at the State B Wrestling Tournament.