SENATE COMMEMORATION NO. 5

Introduced by: Senators Hanson (Gary), Dempster, Fryslie, Garnos, Gray, Jerstad, Kloucek, Knudson, Maher, Nesselhuf, Olson (Russell), Peterson, and Tieszen and Representatives Van Gerpen, Bolin, Brunner, Fargen, Gibson, Hamiel, Jensen, Juhnke, Kirschman, Lederman, Lucas, McLaughlin, Moser, Olson (Ryan), Pitts, Rounds, Schlekeway, Sly, Solberg, Sorenson, Steele, Thompson, Vanneman, and Verchio

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and honoring the 2008-2009 Outstanding School Administrators of South Dakota: Don Kirkegaard, Britton-Hecla, School Superintendent; Sherry Hansen, Tripp-Delmont, School Business Official; Dr. Jackie McNamara, Sioux Falls, Elementary School Principal; Jerry Rasmussen, Dakota Valley, Secondary School Principal; Dr. Debra Johnson, Chamberlain, Middle School Principal; Don Lyon, Meade, Assistant Secondary Principal; Darci Love, Huron, Curriculum Director; and John Fathke, South Central Ed Coop, Director of Special Education for being named outstanding administrators by their respective administrator parent groups.

WHEREAS, these administrators have been elected by their peers for outstanding service and dedication to education; and

WHEREAS, the combined years of service to the people of South Dakota and to the children and youth of South Dakota of these eight educational administrators is two hundred three years; and

WHEREAS, each of these educators has demonstrated a sincere interest in our children and superior skills in their chosen field of educational administration:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-fifth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Dr. Jackie McNamara, Dr. Debra Johnson, Jerry Rasmussen, Don Lyon, John Fathke, Darci Love, Sherry Hansen, and Don Kirkegaard are named as official representatives of the School Administrators of South Dakota and are encouraged to continue their efforts to improve the educational opportunities for the citizens of the state.

