SENATE COMMEMORATION NO. 5

Introduced by: Senators Adelstein, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Buhl, Cutler, Frerichs, Fryslie, Garnos, Gray, Hansen (Tom), Haverly, Heineman, Holien, Hundstad, Hunhoff (Jean), Johnston, Kraus, Krebs, Lederman, Maher, Nelson (Tom), Novstrup (Al), Nygaard, Olson (Russell), Peters, Putnam, Rampelberg, Rave, Rhoden, Schlekeway, Sutton, Tidemann, Tieszen, and Vehle

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Congratulating and honoring the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology's Programming Team for competing in the 2011 World Finals of the Association for Computing's Intercollegiate Programming Contest.

WHEREAS, the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology's Programming Team, consisting of undergraduate students Matt DesEnfants, Ethan Robish, and Randy Foudray, will compete in the 2011 World Finals of the Intercollegiate Programming Contest sponsored by the Association for Computing (ACM) on March 3, 2011, in Sharm el-Sheikh, Egypt; and

WHEREAS, the regional competitions included 24,915 contestants from 2,070 universities from 88 countries on 8,305 teams, and the SDSM&T Programming Team is one of only 18 teams in the country that advanced to the 2011 World Finals; and

WHEREAS, this is the fourth time since 1998 that the SDSM&T Programming Team has advanced to the World Finals, and the team has the support of many alumni and friends who have donated to make the trip to Egypt possible:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the SDSM&T Programming Team, consisting of Matt DesEnfants, Ethan Robish, and Randy Foudray, be congratulated and wished every success at the 2011 World Finals of the ACM Intercollegiate Programming Contest.

