## SENATE COMMEMORATION NO. 15

Introduced by: Senators Holien, Buhl O'Donnell, Hunhoff (Bernie), Novstrup (David), Sutton, and Tidemann and Representatives Hunhoff (Jean), Bartling, Duvall, Hawley, Qualm, Rounds, and Solum

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring the 2016 South Dakota Boys & Girls Clubs of America's Youth of the Year finalists.

WHEREAS, Carolyn Blatchford, Boys & Girls Club of Brookings; Orin Thomas Mato Fischer, Boys & Girls Club of the Missouri River Area; Dylan Morris, Boys & Girls Club of Watertown; Ria Gualano, Ellsworth Air Force Base Youth Program; Kristine Tank, Boys & Girls Club of Aberdeen; Jermaine Davis, Boys & Girls Club of the Sioux Empire; and Mackenzie Sarratt, Boys & Girls Club of the Capital Area have been selected to represent their respective Boys & Girls Club in the state Youth of the Year Program; and

WHEREAS, the Youth of the Year Program is the Boys & Girls Clubs of the America's premier youth recognition program for members who promote and celebrate service to the Club, community, and family; as well as good academic performance, moral character, life goals, and poise and public speaking ability; and

WHEREAS, Disney, Toyota, the University of Phoenix, and the Taco Bell Foundation for Teens generously sponsor the Boys & Girls Clubs of America's Youth of the Year program; and

WHEREAS, one of these club members will be selected to represent South Dakota in the national Youth of the Year program; and

WHEREAS, these club members have demonstrated exemplary accomplishments in the areas of leadership, community service, character development, academics, fitness, poise and public speaking:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-First Legislature of the State



Insertions into existing statutes are indicated by <u>underscores</u>. Deletions from existing statutes are indicated by <del>overstrikes</del>. of South Dakota, that the Legislature commends all the finalists for their outstanding achievements and extends appreciation to Boys & Girls Clubs of America and all the sponsors for their work in promoting and celebrating these achievements through the Youth of the Year Program.