State of South Dakota

EIGHTY-FIFTH SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2010

484R0393

SENATE BILL NO. 170

Introduced by: Senators Turbak Berry, Abdallah, Hanson (Gary), and Heidepriem and Representatives Thompson, Engels, Feinstein, Gibson, Hunhoff (Bernie), Kirkeby, Lederman, Lucas, and Sorenson

- 1 FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to provide for legislative redistricting by a bipartisan,
- 2 nonlegislative commission.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:
- 4 Section 1. A commission of seven citizens, none of whom may be public officials, shall be
- 5 selected to prepare the plan for redistricting the state into legislative districts.
- 6 Section 2. The majority and minority leaders of each house shall each designate one
- 7 commissioner. A commissioner shall be appointed from each district listed in section 3 of this
- 8 Act. The majority leader of the Senate has first choice of the district from which the majority
- 9 leader will select a commissioner. The majority leader of the House of Representatives has
- 10 second choice; the minority leader of the Senate has third choice; the minority leader of the
- House of Representatives has fourth choice. Within twenty days after their designation, the four
- 12 commissioners shall select the fifth, sixth, and seventh members. If the four members fail to
- select the fifth, sixth, and seventh members within the time prescribed, the chief justice of the
- 14 Supreme Court shall select the fifth, sixth, and seventh members.

- 2 - SB 170

- 1 Section 3. The commission districts are the following counties:
- 2 (1) District 1 Minnehaha;
- 3 (2) District 2 Brookings, Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Kingsbury,
- 4 Lake, Marshall, Miner, Moody, and Roberts;
- 5 (3) District 3 Aurora, Bon Homme, Brule, Charles Mix, Clay, Davison, Douglas,
- 6 Gregory, Hanson, Hutchinson, Lincoln, McCook, Turner, Union, and Yankton;
- 7 (4) District 4 Beadle, Brown, Buffalo, Campbell, Edmunds, Faulk, Hand, Hughes,
- 8 Hyde, Jerauld, McPherson, Potter, Sanborn, Spink, Sully, and Walworth;
- 9 (5) District 5 Butte, Corson, Dewey, Haakon, Harding, Lawrence, Meade, Perkins,
- 10 Stanley, and Ziebach;
- 11 (6) District 6 Bennett, Custer, Fall River, Jackson, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Shannon,
- Todd, and Tripp;
- 13 (7) District 7 Pennington.
- Section 4. If a vacancy occurs on the commission, the appointing authority of the vacated
- seat shall designate a successor.
- Section 5. The members shall select a presiding officer from among themselves.
- 17 Section 6. Commissioners are entitled to the same compensation and expenses as provided
- 18 to members of the Legislature while attending commission meetings or carrying out the official
- 19 duties of the commission.
- Section 7. No member of the commission may run for election to a legislative seat within
- 21 two years after the redistricting plan in which the member participated becomes effective.
- Section 8. The director of the Legislative Research Council, under the direction of the
- 23 Executive Board, shall provide the technical staff and clerical services that the commission
- 24 needs to prepare its districting plan.

- 3 - SB 170

Section 9. Upon request, state agencies shall cooperate with the commission and furnish

- 2 technical assistance and consulting personnel.
- 3 Section 10. Before the commission submits its legislative redistricting plan to the
- 4 Legislature, it shall hold at least one public hearing on the plan at the State Capitol, one in Sioux
- 5 Falls, one in Rapid City, and two on Indian reservations. The commission may hold other
- 6 hearings as it deems necessary.
- 7 Section 11. The commission shall submit its legislative redistricting plan to the Legislature
- 8 by September 20, 2011.
- 9 Section 12. Within thirty days after the commission submits its legislative redistricting plan
- 10 to the Legislature, the Legislature shall return the plan to the commission with its
- 11 recommendations.
- Section 13. Within thirty days after receiving the legislative redistricting plan and the
- 13 Legislature's recommendations, the commission shall file its final legislative redistricting plan
- with the secretary of state and the plan shall become law fulfilling the requirements of S.D.
- 15 Const., Art. III, § 5.