State of South Dakota

EIGHTY-NINTH SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2014

282V0836

HOUSE ENGROSSED NO. HCR 1027 - 02/26/2014

Introduced by: Representatives Nelson, Greenfield, Kaiser, Kopp, Magstadt, May, and Russell and Senators Begalka, Jensen, and Otten (Ernie)

- 1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Commending, honoring, and thanking each of the current
- and former Congressmen and Congresswomen who have served South Dakota.
- 3 WHEREAS, The honorable Congressmen and Congresswomen served our state and country
- 4 with dignity and integrity; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Congressmen James Abdnor, James Abourezk, E.Y. Berry, Joseph H. Bottum,
- 6 William J. Bulow, Charles H. Burke, Harlan J. Bushfield, Vera C. Bushfield, Francis Case,
- 7 Charles A. Christopherson, Coe I. Crawford, Tom Daschle, Frank E. Denholm, Charles H.
- 8 Dillon, John Rankin Gamble, Robert J. Gamble, Harry L. Gandy, Oscar S. Gifford, J. Chandler
- 9 Chan Gurney, Philo Hall, Fred H. Hildebrandt, Herbert E. Hitchcock, Bill Janklow, Edwin S.
- Johnson, Royal C. Johnson, Tim Johnson, John L. Jolley, John Edward Kelley, Alfred B.
- Kittredge, Freeman T. Knowles, James H. Kyle, Harold O. Lovre, William V. Lucas, Eben W.
- Martin, George McGovern, William H. McMaster, Gideon C. Moody, Karl E. Mundt, Peter
- Norbeck, William H. Parker, Richard F. Pettigrew, John A. Pickler, Larry Pressler, Gladys Pyle,
- 14 Ben Reifel, Clint Roberts, Thomas Sterling, John R. Thune, Theodore B. Werner, and William
- 15 Williamson; and Congresswomen Stephanie Herseth Sandlin and Kristi Noem inspired



- 2 - HCR 1027

1 countless South Dakotans in their efforts to keep America safe and make our country the

- 2 greatest country in the world; and
- WHEREAS, South Dakotans greatly appreciate the sacrifice, dedication, and service of all
- 4 our past and present Congressmen and Congresswomen who have done so much for the State
- 5 of South Dakota:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the House of Representatives of the Eighty-
- 7 Ninth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the Senate concurring therein, that these
- 8 honorable past and present Congressmen and Congresswomen are commended, honored, and
- 9 thanked for their service to our state and our great nation.