HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 1005

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Urging Congress to propose the regulation freedom amendment to the United States Constitution.

WHEREAS, the growth and abuse of federal regulatory authority threatens our constitutional liberties, including those guaranteed by the Bill of Rights in the first, second, fourth, and fifth amendments of our Constitution; and

WHEREAS, federal regulators must be more accountable to elected representatives of the people and not immune from such accountability; and

WHEREAS, the United States House of Representatives has passed with bipartisan support the REINS ACT to require that Congress approve major new federal regulations before they can take effect; and

WHEREAS, even if enacted, a law may be repealed or waived by a future Congress and President; and

WHEREAS, an amendment to the United States Constitution does not require the President's approval and cannot be waived by a future Congress and President:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the House of Representatives of the Ninetieth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the Senate concurring therein, that the South Dakota Legislature urges the United States Congress to vote to propose the regulation freedom amendment to the United States Constitution providing that whenever one quarter of the members of the United States House of Representatives or the United States Senate transmits to the President their written declaration of opposition to a proposed federal regulation, it shall require a majority vote of the House of Representatives and the Senate to adopt that regulation; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the secretary of state transmit copies of this resolution to each member of the South Dakota congressional delegation, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the President of the Senate of every state legislature in the United States.

Adopted by the House of Representatives,
Concurred in by the Senate,

January 29, 2015 February 3, 2015

Dean Wink Arlene Kvislen

Speaker of the House Chief Clerk of the House

Matt Michels Kay Johnson

President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate