South Dakota Legislature

House Commemoration 8018

Introduced by: Representatives Mortenson and Weisgram and Senator Mehlhaff

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Recognizing and celebrating the Pierre Governors football team.

WHEREAS, on November 10, 2023, the Pierre Governors football team earned their seventh consecutive Class 11AA State Championship with a final score of 35-17; and

WHEREAS, the Pierre Governors were expertly led by their coach Steve Steele, and assistant coaches Daniel Maciejczak, Scott Neu, Ryan Royer, Joshua Schleusner, Adam Spoehr, and Matt Thorson; and

WHEREAS, the Pierre Governors became the first high school football team in South Dakota history to win seven consecutive football championships:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Ninth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Legislature recognizes and celebrates the 2023 state championship victory of the Pierre Governors football team.