South Dakota Legislature



House Commemoration 8010

Introduced by: Representative Wiese

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Celebrating the Madison High School gymnastics team for winning the Class A state championship.

WHEREAS, the Madison High School gymnastics team, which holds a national record with 16-straight Class A state championships, claimed its 21st Class A state gymnastics title on February 11, 2022. The team, coached by Maridee Dossett and Carrie Wieman, defeated a capable opponent and exhibited great effort and sportsmanship during the tournament. A Madison gymnast was injured and team members who were alternates stepped forward to give stellar performances on short notice; and

WHEREAS, the senior members of the team, Kylie Krusemark, Olivia Flemming, Raena Rost, and Fiona Donelan, last won a team championship as seventh-graders. Kylie Krusemark was the 2022 Class A vault champion and Raena Rost won the prestigious Sarah Nitz award. The championship event was topped off with Carrie Wieman being awarded with the Class A Assistant Coach of the Year. The other championship team members are Maggie Engebretson, Lexi Hirsch, Sophia Sudenga, Ellie Keller, Julia Dossett, Caymen Ferber, Karlie Nelson, Sophia Peterreins, and Kyra Wiese:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Seventh Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Madison High School gymnastics team be commended for winning the Class A state championship and for displaying exemplary teamwork, leadership, and commitment.