South Dakota Legislature

House Commemoration 8008

Introduced by: **Representatives** Venhuizen, Arlint, Bartels, Callies, Deutsch, Emery, Kassin, Krull, Mortenson, Perry, Drew Peterson, Rehfeldt, Stevens, Tordsen, and Wittman and **Senators** Jack Kolbeck, Crabtree, Davis, Duhamel, Steve Kolbeck, Nesiba, Herman Otten, Reed, and Wiik

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring Cynthia Mickelson, a member of the Sioux Falls School District Board of Education, on her selection as the Associated School Boards of South Dakota Outstanding School Board Member of South Dakota for 2022.

WHEREAS, Cynthia has served on the Sioux Falls School Board since 2014, and has been a tireless advocate for the children, staff, and all who affect education in her district, and her engagement in her community is clearly evident as she champions education with everyone she encounters; and

WHEREAS, Cynthia served as Sioux Falls School Board President for three years, and shepherded the board through a new superintendent search, implementation of a \$190,000,000 bond, opening of two new schools, and a boundary change reorganization plan, all while putting the needs of Sioux Falls students and staff first; and

WHEREAS, Cynthia is hard-working at the board table, within the district, and in her community, and leads with courage, grace, and steadfastness:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Eighth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Cynthia Mickelson was selected as the Associated School Boards of South Dakota Outstanding School Board Member of South Dakota for 2022, is considered as an official representative of the association, and shall continue in her efforts to enhance the educational opportunities for the K-12 students of this state.