HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1053

Introduced by: Representatives Feinstein, Blake, Liss, and Tornow and Senators Cutler, Heineman, and Peters

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and honoring the National Merit PSAT Semifinalists Greg Berg, Sai Sai Chen, Jackson Erpenbach, Claire Gregg, Ethan Nemmers, and Hannah Purtell of Sioux Falls Lincoln High School for their outstanding academic achievements.

WHEREAS, the National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955; and

WHEREAS, the students Greg Berg, Sai Sai Chen, Jackson Erpenbach, Claire Gregg, Ethan Nemmers, and Hannah Purtell of Lincoln High School have shown exemplary patience, dedication, and excellence in academics; and

WHEREAS, all members of Lincoln High School helped facilitate and cultivate the academic, mental, and emotional growth and development of the students; and

WHEREAS, the Semifinalists received letters of commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise; and

WHEREAS, these students have excelled academically by meeting high academic standards and have been selected from one and one-half million other entrants to advance to semifinalist status, whereby they join an elite group representing the nation's best and brightest high school students:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-seventh Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Legislature congratulates Greg Berg, Sai Sai Chen, Jackson Erpenbach, Claire Greg, Ethan Nemmers, and Hannah Purtell on the success of their exceptional academic performances.

