## HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1048

Introduced by: Representatives Iron Cloud III, Blake, Dennert, Elliott, Fargen, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Hawley, Hunhoff (Bernie), Jones, Killer, Kirschman, Lucas, Schrempp, Sigdestad, Street, and Wismer and Senators Bradford, Adelstein, Begalka, Brown, Buhl, Cutler, Frerichs, Fryslie, Gray, Hansen (Tom), Haverly, Heineman, Holien, Hunhoff (Jean), Johnston, Juhnke, Kraus, Krebs, Lederman, Maher, Nelson (Tom), Novstrup (Al), Olson (Russell), Putnam, Rampelberg, Rave, Rhoden, Schlekeway, Sutton, Tidemann, Tieszen, and Vehle

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Acknowledging the nine sovereign Tribes within the borders of South Dakota and recognizing Governor Dennis Daugaard for his dedication to promoting a cooperative government-to-government relationship between the Tribes and the State of South Dakota.

WHEREAS, there are nine distinct and sovereign Tribes in South Dakota: Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe, Crow Creek Sioux Tribe, Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe, Lower Brule Sioux Tribe, Oglala Sioux Tribe, Rosebud Sioux Tribe, Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate Tribe, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, and Yankton Sioux Tribe; and

WHEREAS, each of the Tribes has a longstanding historical and legal relationship with the state and that the Tribes are vital to the political, economic, and cultural well-being of South Dakota; and

WHEREAS, Governor Daugaard created the Department of Tribal Relations to promote a working relationship between the state and each of the nine Tribes to address common interest areas including health, education, and economic development and to improve the quality of life for all South Dakota citizens:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-seventh Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the nine Tribes be acknowledged and Governor Dennis Daugaard be recognized for his dedication to promoting a cooperative government-to-government relationship



between the Tribes and the state.