HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1033

Introduced by: Representatives Feinstein, Deelstra, Elliott, Hawley, Hickey, Kirschman, and Tornow and Senators Cutler and Peters

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring and congratulating the 2010 State AA Girls Basketball Championship team from Sioux Falls Washington High School.

WHEREAS, the 2009-2010 Sioux Falls Washington Girls Basketball Team included players Sarah Zirpel, Jessica Carson, Denae Veldkamp, Bailey Jorgensen, Kari Hilbrands, Taylor Gackle, Rachel Walters, Sami Smith, Hannah Weber, Becca Ryan, Emma Hanson, Jenny Lamb, Katelin Johnson, Cera Ledbetter, Mercede Stotesbery, and Whitnee Clayton; and

WHEREAS, head coach Nate Malchow and assistant coaches Brett Schlekeway, Larry Toft, and Gretchen Johnson led the team to an 18-5 winning season along with the district championship title; and

WHEREAS, student managers Ashley Jensen, Sami Huber, Kaylynn Ragsdale, Lyn Metzger, and Tiffany Honerman assisted during the season; and

WHEREAS, Rachel Walters was selected for First Team AA All-State as well as the State AA All-Tournament Team. Also selected for the State AA All-Tournament Team were teammates Mercede Stotesbery, Rachel Walters, and Sarah Zirpel; and

WHEREAS, Rachel Walters was selected for the First Team All Greater Dakota Conference, and Whitnee Clayton and Mercede Stotesbery were selected for Second Team All Greater Dakota Conference:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, by the Eighty-sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that we honor and congratulate the 2009-2010 Sioux Falls Washington Girls Basketball Team for its stellar achievements in winning the 2010 Girls State AA Basketball Championship.

