State of South Dakota

EIGHTY-SIXTH SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2011

527S0798

HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1031

Introduced by: Representatives Lust, Bolin, Boomgarden, Brunner, Carson, Conzet, Cronin, Deelstra, Dennert, Dryden, Elliott, Fargen, Feickert, Gosch, Haggar, Hansen (Jon), Hawley, Hickey, Hoffman, Hubbel, Hunhoff (Bernie), Hunt, Iron Cloud III, Jensen, Juhnke, Killer, Kirkeby, Kirschman, Kloucek, Kopp, Liss, Lucas, Magstadt, Moser, Munsterman, Nelson (Stace), Novstrup (David), Perry, Rausch, Romkema, Rozum, Sigdestad, Sly, Solum, Steele, Street, Stricherz, Tornow, Tulson, Turbiville, Van Gerpen, Vanneman, Venner, Verchio, White, Wick, Willadsen, and Wink and Senators Johnston, Adelstein, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Buhl, Cutler, Frerichs, Fryslie, Garnos, Hansen (Tom), Haverly, Heineman, Holien, Hundstad, Hunhoff (Jean), Kraus, Krebs, Lederman, Nelson (Tom), Novstrup (Al), Nygaard, Olson (Russell), Peters, Putnam, Rampelberg, Rave, Rhoden, Schlekeway, Sutton, Tidemann, Tieszen, and Vehle

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring former Governor M. Michael Rounds for his service as a South Dakota State Senator and the thirty-first Governor of South Dakota.

WHEREAS, Governor Rounds represented District 24, serving as South Dakota Senator from 1991 to 2000, inclusive, and was selected as Senate Majority Leader in 1995; and

WHEREAS, in 2002 Governor Rounds ran for his first term as Governor and won the gubernatorial election followed by re-election in 2006; and

WHEREAS, Governor Rounds dedicated his service to promote economic development, expand tourism, and create opportunities for young adults to have a prosperous future in South Dakota; and

WHEREAS, Governor Rounds was devoted to keeping Ellsworth Air Force Base open and displayed a tireless effort to establish a national underground science laboratory at the former Homestake mine:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that former Governor M. Michael Rounds be recognized and honored on his many achievements and service to the State of South Dakota.