HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1026

Introduced by: Representatives Feinstein, Deelstra, Elliott, Hawley, Hickey, Kirschman, and Tornow and Senators Cutler and Peters

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and honoring the 2010 boys and girls track individual champions of Washington High School for their outstanding athletic performance at the 2010 State AA Track Meet.

WHEREAS, the student athletes of the Washington Warriors Track Team, including Trevor Gebhart, Alexander Waddell, and Keri Heck have shown exemplary patience, dedication, and tenacity in their pursuit of a State AA Track Championship in an individual event; and

WHEREAS, Trevor Gebhart took the State AA title in the individual events of the boys 200 Meter Dash with a time of 22.06 seconds and the boys 400 Meter Dash with a time of 48.96 seconds; and

WHEREAS, Alexander Waddell took the State AA title and set a State AA record in the boys 800 Meter Run with a time of 1:53.94; and

WHEREAS, Keri Heck took the State AA titles with a time of 25.78 seconds in the girls 200 Meter Dash and 400 Meter Dash with a time of 56.23 seconds; and

WHEREAS, the Washington Warriors Track Team head coach Everett Gebhart, assistant boys coaches Steve Bertrand, Ryan Folsom, and Shane Reilly, and assistant girls coaches Mark Dunbar, Lenae Harrison, and Brian Hermanson, helped facilitate and cultivate the physical, mental, and emotional growth and development of the student athletes; and

WHEREAS, all members of the Washington Warriors Track Team, including the student athletes, coaches, parents, and fans, have volunteered their time and unique talents for the betterment of the Washington High School Track Team:



NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Trevor Gebhart, Alexander Waddell, and Keri Heck be commended and honored for their patience, dedication, and tenacity, and, most of all, for their 2010 performance at the State AA Track Meet.