HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1021

Introduced by: Representatives Lucas, Fargen, Gibson, Iron Cloud III, Jensen, Jones, Killer, Kirschman, Kloucek, Magstadt, Romkema, Russell, Schaefer, Schrempp, Sigdestad, Stricherz, Turbiville, Vanneman, Wink, and Wismer and Senators Sutton, Bradford, Frerichs, Garnos, Maher, Olson (Russell), and Schlekeway

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Congratulating and commending the White River High School Boys Basketball Team for its State Class B Championship and successful 2009-2010 season.

WHEREAS, the White River High School Boys Basketball Team was the 2010 State Class B Champions coming from behind and led by R.J. Estes's twenty-five points to defeat the team from Hitchcock-Tulare 66-63 in the championship game; and

WHEREAS, the champion Tigers also beat Coleman-Egan 68-58 in the first-round game behind Wyatt Krogman's thirty points and defeated Viborg 65-59 in the semi-final game with Fred Quick Bear Jr. sparking the team and providing points off the bench; and

WHEREAS, R.J. Estes, Wyatt Krogman, and Jake Krogman were awarded with the All-Tournament Team Award; and

WHEREAS, the Boys'Basketball Team finished the 2009-2010 season with a record of twenty-four wins and two losses; and

WHEREAS, the White River Boys High School Basketball Team played in the championship game for three straight years with two state championships and narrowly losing to Sully Buttes in 2009 by a score of 74-73; and

WHEREAS, the White River High School Boys Basketball Team exemplifies the dedication and commitment needed to reach lofty goals; and



WHEREAS, head coach Eldon Marshall and the White River administration represent the leadership needed to push students to their finest:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the White River High School Boys Basketball Team be congratulated and commended for its 2010 State Class B Championship and successful basketball program.