## HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1019

Introduced by: Representatives Nelson (Stace), Abdallah, Bolin, Boomgarden, Brunner, Carson, Deelstra, Elliott, Fargen, Feickert, Greenfield, Haggar, Hansen (Jon), Hawley, Hickey, Hoffman, Hubbel, Hunhoff (Bernie), Iron Cloud III, Jensen, Jones, Juhnke, Kirkeby, Kirschman, Kloucek, Kopp, Liss, Lucas, Magstadt, Miller, Moser, Munsterman, Novstrup (David), Olson (Betty), Perry, Romkema, Rozum, Russell, Schaefer, Schrempp, Sigdestad, Sly, Solum, Steele, Street, Stricherz, Tornow, Tulson, Turbiville, Van Gerpen, Venner, Verchio, Wick, Willadsen, and Wismer and Senators Rave, Adelstein, Begalka, Bradford, Buhl, Cutler, Frerichs, Fryslie, Garnos, Gray, Hansen (Tom), Haverly, Heineman, Holien, Hundstad, Hunhoff (Jean), Johnston, Kraus, Lederman, Maher, Nelson (Tom), Novstrup (Al), Nygaard, Olson (Russell), Peters, Putnam, Rampelberg, Rhoden, Sutton, Tidemann, Tieszen, and Vehle

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring, commending, and thanking the 2010 retirees of the South Dakota Highway Patrol.

WHEREAS, Colonel Dan Mosteller, Captain Pat Fahey, First Sergeant Kevin Schurch, Sergeant Don Allen, Sergeant Chris Forster, Sergeant Durk Jamison, Sergeant Brandon Marineau, and Sergeant Tony Melarango of the South Dakota Highway Patrol all retired in 2010; and

WHEREAS, their individual retirements culminate decades of personal, selfless sacrifice and service in the face of ever present danger and hardships while serving the people of South Dakota; and the combined service of these distinguished Highway Patrolmen reflects hundreds of years of dedicated service to the people of South Dakota; and

WHEREAS, the actions and performance of each of these individuals were instrumental in establishing, maintaining, and in keeping with the highest traditions of the troopers of the South Dakota Highway Patrol; and



WHEREAS, the South Dakota Highway Patrol police service dogs, Keya and Karla, are also recognized in their retirement, and are commended for their faithful service to the people of South Dakota, as well as for their zealous support of the troopers and all South Dakota law enforcement:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Legislature commends the 2010 retirees of the South Dakota Highway Patrol, and thanks them for their outstanding service to the State of South Dakota, and extends best wishes for their continued success, happiness, and safety.