HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1018

Introduced by: Representatives Sorenson, Blake, Bolin, Fargen, Feickert, Frerichs, Gibson, Iron Cloud III, Killer, Kopp, Lucas, Rave, Rounds, Schlekeway, Schrempp, and Solberg and Senators Ahlers, Dempster, Hanson (Gary), Heidepriem, and Nesselhuf

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and honoring the 2009 State A Boys' Track Champions, the Dell Rapids Quarriers, for their outstanding athletic performance in Spearfish and Rapid City at the 2009 State A Boys' Track Meet.

WHEREAS, the student athletes of the Dell Rapids Quarriers Boys' Track Team, including Kevin Berg, Tate Bunkers, Chris Curry, Zach Gunn, Taylor Huska, Ben Mitchell, Kyle Tibke, Travis Delker, Matt Dunbar, Josh Fiedler, Evan Leebans, Landon Lueders, Jordon Munk, Connor O'Hara, Thomas Gereats, and Greg Schwebach, have shown exemplary patience, dedication, and tenacity in their pursuit of a state track championship; and

WHEREAS, the Dell Rapids Quarriers Boys' Track Team coaches, Doug Fiedler, Jim Schroeder, Steve Clark, Steve Hegge, and Steve Hansen, helped facilitate and cultivate the physical, mental, and emotional growth and development for their student athletes; and

WHEREAS, the Dell Rapids Quarriers Boys' Track Team scored ninety-one points, which easily outdistanced the competition by thirty-five points and transcended numerous school records, including the 110 meter high hurdles, 300 meter low hurdles, 200 meter dash, 400 meter dash, and triple jump; and

WHEREAS, the Dell Rapids Quarriers boys 4 X 200 meter relay, consisting of Matt Dunbar, Chris Curry, Taylor Huska, and Kyle Tibke, finished in a blazing time of 1:29:8 and established a new state record, and the 4 X 400 meter relay established a new school record; and

WHEREAS, all members of the Dell Rapids Quarriers Boys' Track Team, including the student athletes, coaches, parents, and fans, have volunteered their time and unique talents for the betterment



of the Dell Rapids Quarriers Boys' Track Team and enrichment of the community of Dell Rapids:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-fifth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Dell Rapid Quarriers Boys' Track Team be commended and honored for its patience, dedication, and tenacity, and, most of all, for its championship performance at the 2009 State A Boys' Track Meet.