## HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1016

Introduced by: Representatives Miskimins, Anderson, Barthel, Borglum, Chase, Dennert, Deutsch, Duba, Duvall, Finck, Frye-Mueller, Glanzer, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Jensen (Kevin), Johns, Johnson (Chris), Koth, Lake, Lesmeister, Mills, Milstead, Mulally, Olson, Otten (Herman), Peterson (Kent), Pischke, Rasmussen, Reed, Reimer, Rounds, Steele, Weis, Willadsen, and York and Senators Klumb, Blare, DiSanto, Jensen (Phil), Nelson, Novstrup, Smith (VJ), Steinhauer, and Wismer

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and honoring Dakota Wesleyan University Women's Basketball Team for their outstanding athletic performance upon winning their first NAIA Division II National Championship in the 2018 season.

WHEREAS, the championship was the first national championship in Dakota Wesleyan University's history; and

WHEREAS, head coach Jason Christensen led the team to tie a school record of thirty-two wins; and

WHEREAS, Ashley Bray finished her career as the top fifth scorer in program history with 1,689 points, was named All-American first team, and All-GPAC first team; and

WHEREAS, Amber Bray was named All-American honorable mention and All-GPAC first team; and

WHEREAS, Rylie Osthus was named All-GPAC first team, Co-Defensive Player of the Year, and scored her 1,000th career point; and

WHEREAS, Kynedi Cheeseman was named All-GPAC secord team and Chesney Nagel named All-GPAC honorable mention:



NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Fourth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Dakota Wesleyan Women's Basketball Team be commended and honored for their sportsmanship, teamwork, and for their accomplishments as 2018 NAIA Division II National Champions.