State of South Dakota

EIGHTY-SEVENTH SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2012

487T0079

HOUSE BILL NO. 1224

Introduced by: Representative Russell

- FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to allow voters to petition for the at large election of county
- 2 commissioners.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:
- 4 Section 1. That chapter 7-8 be amended by adding thereto a NEW SECTION to read as
- 5 follows:
- 6 If fifteen percent of the registered voters of the county, based upon the total number of
- 7 registered voters at the last preceding general election, petition the board of county
- 8 commissioners to have all of the county commissioners elected at large, the board shall submit
- 9 the question to a vote of the voters of the county at the next general election. Notice of the
- submission of this question shall be given in the notice of the general election.
- 11 Section 2. That chapter 7-8 be amended by adding thereto a NEW SECTION to read as
- 12 follows:
- If the petition is for the county commissioners to be elected at large, the proposition shall
- be submitted by a separate ballot in the following form:
- Ballot to have the County Commissioners elected at large.



- 2 -HB 1224

- 1 (Place x or . in the square at the left of your choice)
- 2 * For the at large election of commissioners.
- 3 * Against the at large election of commissioners.
- 4 Section 3. That chapter 7-8 be amended by adding thereto a NEW SECTION to read as
- 5 follows:

6

- If at the election a majority of all the votes cast is for the at large election of the commissioners, the board within one hundred eighty days after the votes have been canvassed 7 8 shall redistrict the county into one at large district from which the county commissioners shall 9 be elected at the next general election. If a county commissioner's term of office extends for an 10 additional two years beyond the next general election, the tenure of office is not affected. When
- 11 a county is redistricted into one at large district, the commissioners serving shall continue until
- 12 their successors are elected or appointed and qualified.