State of South Dakota

NINETY-THIRD SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2018

913Z0684

HOUSE BILL NO. 1167

- Introduced by: Representatives Howard, Ahlers, Anderson, Barthel, Brunner, Campbell, Chase, Clark, Dennert, Diedrich, DiSanto, Frye-Mueller, Goodwin, Gosch, Greenfield (Lana), Haugaard, Heinemann, Hunhoff, Johns, Kaiser, Karr, Kettwig, Lake, Latterell, Lesmeister, Livermont, Lust, Marty, May, Mills, Peterson (Kent), Peterson (Sue), Pischke, Rasmussen, Rounds, Rozum, Schoenfish, Turbiville, Wiese, York, and Zikmund and Senators Ewing, Bolin, Cronin, Haverly, Jensen (Phil), Kolbeck, Monroe, Nelson, Novstrup, Partridge, Rusch, Russell, Solano, Stalzer, Tapio, Wiik, and Youngberg
- 1 FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to revise certain provisions regarding the appointment of
- 2 county commissioners to county planning commissions.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:

4 Section 1. That § 11-2-2 be amended to read:

5 11-2-2. The board of county commissioners of each county in the state may appoint a

6 commission of five or more members to be known as the county planning commission. If a

- 7 county proposes to enact or implement any purpose set forth in this chapter then the board of
- 8 county commissioners shall appoint a county planning commission. The total membership of
- 9 the county planning commission shall always be an uneven number and at least one member
- 10 shall may be a member of the board of county commissioners. The county planning commission
- 11 is also the county zoning commission.

