State of South Dakota

EIGHTY-SEVENTH SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2012

466T0468

HOUSE BILL NO. 1149

Introduced by: Representatives Gibson, Abdallah, Blake, Fargen, Hawley, Kirschman, Sigdestad, Street, and Wismer and Senators Frerichs, Buhl, and Sutton

- FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to provide for legislative redistricting by a bipartisan,
 nonlegislative commission.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:
- Section 1. A commission of seven citizens, none of whom may be public officials, shall be
 selected to prepare the plan for redistricting the state into legislative districts.
- 6 Section 2. The majority and minority leaders of each house shall each designate one 7 commissioner. A commissioner shall be appointed from each district listed in section 3 of this 8 Act. The majority leader of the Senate has first choice of the district from which the majority 9 leader will select a commissioner. The majority leader of the House of Representatives has 10 second choice; the minority leader of the Senate has third choice; the minority leader of the 11 House of Representatives has fourth choice. Within twenty days after their designation, the four 12 commissioners shall select the fifth, sixth, and seventh members. If the four members fail to 13 select the fifth, sixth, and seventh members within the time prescribed, the Chief Justice of the 14 Supreme Court shall select the fifth, sixth, and seventh members.
- 15 Section 3. The commission districts are the following counties:



Insertions into existing statutes are indicated by <u>underscores</u>. Deletions from existing statutes are indicated by overstrikes.

- 1 (1) District 1 Minnehaha;
- 2 (2) District 2 Brookings, Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Kingsbury,
 3 Lake, Marshall, Miner, Moody, and Roberts;
- 4 (3) District 3 Aurora, Bon Homme, Brule, Charles Mix, Clay, Davison, Douglas,
 5 Gregory, Hanson, Hutchinson, Lincoln, McCook, Turner, Union, and Yankton;
- 6 (4) District 4 Beadle, Brown, Buffalo, Campbell, Edmunds, Faulk, Hand, Hughes,
 7 Hyde, Jerauld, McPherson, Potter, Sanborn, Spink, Sully, and Walworth;
- 8 (5) District 5 Butte, Corson, Dewey, Haakon, Harding, Lawrence, Meade, Perkins,
 9 Stanley, and Ziebach;
- 10 (6) District 6 Bennett, Custer, Fall River, Jackson, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Shannon,
 11 Todd, and Tripp;
- 12 (7) District 7 Pennington.

Section 4. If a vacancy occurs on the commission, the appointing authority of the vacatedseat shall designate a successor.

15 Section 5. The members shall select a presiding officer from among themselves.

16 Section 6. Commissioners are entitled to the same compensation and expenses as provided

17 to members of the Legislature while attending commission meetings or carrying out the official

18 duties of the commission.

Section 7. No member of the commission may run for election to a legislative seat within
 two years after the redistricting plan in which the member participated becomes effective.

Section 8. The director of the Legislative Research Council, under the direction of the
 Executive Board, shall provide the technical staff and clerical services that the commission
 needs to prepare its districting plan.

24 Section 9. Upon request, state agencies shall cooperate with the commission and furnish

1 technical assistance and consulting personnel.

2	Section 10. Before the commission submits its legislative redistricting plan to the
3	Legislature, it shall hold at least one public hearing on the plan at the State Capitol, one in Sioux
4	Falls, one in Rapid City, and seven on Indian reservations. The commission may hold other
5	hearings as it deems necessary.
6	Section 11. The commission shall submit its legislative redistricting plan to the Legislature
7	by September 20, 2021.
8	Section 12. Within thirty days after the commission submits its legislative redistricting plan
9	to the Legislature, the Legislature shall return the plan to the commission with its
10	recommendations.
11	Section 13. Within thirty days after receiving the legislative redistricting plan and the
12	Legislature's recommendations, the commission shall file its final legislative redistricting plan
13	with the secretary of state and the plan shall become law fulfilling the requirements of S.D.
14	Const., Art. III, § 5.