State of South Dakota

EIGHTY-FIFTH SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2010

400R0261

HOUSE BILL NO. 1058

Introduced by: The Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources at the request of the Department of Agriculture

- 1 FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to restructure the South Dakota Weed and Pest Control
- 2 Commission.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:
- 4 Section 1. That § 38-22-1.5 be amended to read as follows:
- 5 38-22-1.5. The South Dakota Weed and Pest Control Commission shall consist consists of
- 6 the following members: the secretary of agriculture or a designee, and the dean of the college
- 7 of agriculture and biological sciences of South Dakota State University or a designee who shall
- 8 <u>serve as nonvoting members</u>, the secretary of transportation or a designee, the secretary of game,
- 9 fish and parks or a designee, the commissioner of school and public lands or a designee, a
- member of the South Dakota Association of County Commissions, the president of the South
- 11 Dakota County Association of Weed and Pest Boards or a designee, the president of the South
- 12 Dakota Association of Weed and Pest Supervisors or a designee Commissioners to be appointed
- by that association, and six five members appointed by the Governor as provided in § 38-22-1.6.
- 14 Section 2. That § 38-22-1.6 be amended to read as follows:
- 15 38-22-1.6. The six five members of the South Dakota Weed and Pest Control Commission

- 2 - HB 1058

1 appointed by the Governor shall be selected from a list of nominees presented by the State 2 Association of County Weed and Pest Boards, who shall submit at least three names for each 3 appointment. One member from District I shall reside within the counties of Beadle, Brookings, 4 Brown, Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Hyde, 5 Kingsbury, Marshall, or McPherson, Roberts, or Spink; one member from District II shall reside 6 within the counties of Aurora, Bon Homme, Brookings Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Clay, 7 Davison, Douglas, Hanson, Hutchinson, Kingsbury Jerauld, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, 8 Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Turner, Union, or Yankton; one member from District III shall 9 reside within the counties of Bennett, Custer, Fall River Campbell, Corson, Dewey, Gregory, 10 Haakon, Hughes, Jackson, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Pennington, Shannon, or Potter, Stanley, 11 Sully, Todd, Tripp, Walworth, or Ziebach; one member shall reside within the counties of 12 Aurora, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Davison, Douglas, Gregory, Hanson, Jerauld, Sanborn, 13 or Tripp; one member shall reside within the counties of Beadle, Campbell, Edmunds, Faulk, 14 Hand, Hughes, Hyde, McPherson, Potter, Spink, Stanley, Sully, or Walworth; and one member 15 from District IV shall reside within the counties of Butte, Corson, Dewey Custer, Fall River, 16 Harding, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington, Perkins, or Ziebach Shannon; and one additional South 17 Dakota resident shall be appointed by the Governor to serve as an at-large member of the 18 commission selected from a list of names representing one individual from each district. The 19 term of each member appointed pursuant to this section shall be three years for no more than 20 two consecutive four-year terms with the exception of the initial appointments which shall be 21 made as follows: two members for a three-year term, two members for a two-year term and two 22 members for a one-year term. The Governor shall designate the length of terms for the initial 23 appointments as authorized in this section District I for a one-year term, District II for a two-24 year term, District III for a three-year term, and District IV for a four-year term. As the term of - 3 - HB 1058

1 any gubernatorial member expires, a new member shall be appointed from the district for a

2 period of three <u>four</u> years. <u>In the event of If</u> a vacancy <u>occurring occurs</u> in any of the terms, the

3 Governor may appoint a successor in the manner described in this section to complete the term.

4 Section 3. The terms of the appointed members of the South Dakota Weed and Pest Control

Commission in office on July 1, 2010, continue until January 1, 2011, at which time their terms

end. The Governor shall appoint five members pursuant to section 2 of this Act. Terms for those

7 members shall begin on January 1, 2011. The appointments may include former or currently

serving commission members. No term previous to the reformulation of the commission

9 pursuant to this Act may be considered in regard to term limitations.

5

6

8