AN ACT

ENTITLED, An Act to provide for the redistricting of the Supreme Court appointment districts.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:

Section 1. That § 16-1-1 be amended to read as follows:

16-1-1. The state is divided into five Supreme Court districts from each of which a justice shall be selected as follows:

First District. The counties of Custer, Pennington, Lawrence, and Meade constitute the first Supreme Court district.

Second District. The county of Minnehaha constitutes the second Supreme Court district.

Third District. The counties of Brookings, Kingsbury, Moody, Miner, Sanborn, Beadle, Jerauld, Hand, Hyde, Hughes, Sully, Stanley, Brule, Buffalo, Jones, Jackson, Lyman, Mellette, Todd, Tripp, Bennett, Shannon, Fall River, Lake, and Haakon constitute the third Supreme Court district.

Fourth District. The counties of Union, Clay, Yankton, Hutchinson, Hanson, Davison, Bon Homme, Douglas, Aurora, Charles Mix, Gregory, McCook, Turner and Lincoln constitute the fourth Supreme Court district.

Fifth District. The counties of Grant, Roberts, Day, Marshall, Clark, Brown, McPherson, Edmunds, Faulk, Potter, Walworth, Campbell, Corson, Dewey, Ziebach, Perkins, Butte, Codington, Spink, Deuel, Hamlin, and Harding constitute the fifth Supreme Court district.

HB No. 1002 Page 1

An Act to provide for the redistricting of the Supreme Court appointment districts.

I certify that the attached Act originated in the	Received at this Executive Office this day of,
HOUSE as Bill No. 1002	20 at M.
Chief Clerk	By for the Governor
Speaker of the House	The attached Act is hereby approved this day of, A.D., 20
Attest:	
Chief Clerk	Governor
	STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA,
President of the Senate	Office of the Secretary of State
Attest:	Filed, 20 at o'clock M.
Secretary of the Senate	
	Secretary of State
House Bill No. 1002 File No Chapter No.	ByAsst. Secretary of State
Chapter No	