State of South Dakota

EIGHTY-SIXTH SPECIAL SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2011

835S0002

HOUSE BILL NO. 1002

Introduced by: Representative Rausch and Senator Olson (Russell)

- 1 FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to provide for the redistricting of the Supreme Court
- 2 appointment districts.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:
- 4 Section 1. That § 16-1-1 be amended to read as follows:
- 5 16-1-1. The state is divided into five Supreme Court districts from each of which a justice
- 6 shall be selected as follows:
- 7 First District. The counties of Fall River, Custer, Pennington, Lawrence, and Meade shall
- 8 constitute the first Supreme Court district.
- 9 Second District. The county of Minnehaha and that part of Lincoln County that is west of
- 10 South Dakota Highway 115 and north of 273rd street shall constitute constitutes the second
- 11 Supreme Court district.
- Third District. The counties of Brookings, Deuel, Hamlin, Kingsbury, Moody, Miner, Moody, Miner, Third District.
- Sanborn, Beadle, Jerauld, Hand, Hyde, Hughes, Sully, Stanley, Brule, Buffalo, Jones, Jackson,
- 14 <u>Lyman</u>, Mellette, Todd, <u>Tripp</u>, Bennett, Shannon, <u>Fall River</u>, Lake, and Haakon shall constitute
- 15 the third Supreme Court district.



- 2 - HB 1002

- Fourth District. The counties of Union, Clay, Yankton, Hutchinson, Hanson, Davison, Bon
- 2 Homme, Douglas, Aurora, Brule, Charles Mix, Gregory, Tripp, Lyman, McCook, Turner and
- 3 that part of Lincoln County that is not included in the second Supreme Court district shall
- 4 constitute the fourth Supreme Court district.
- 5 Fifth District. The counties of Grant, Roberts, Day, Marshall, Clark, Brown, McPherson,
- 6 Edmunds, Faulk, Potter, Walworth, Campbell, Corson, Dewey, Ziebach, Perkins, Butte,
- 7 Codington, Spink, <u>Deuel, Hamlin</u>, and Harding shall constitute the fifth Supreme Court district.