LC005692

19

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2016

SENATE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE BURRILLVILLE BOYS' HOCKEY TEAM ON WINNING THE 2016 RHODE ISLAND BOYS' DIVISION I STATE CHAMPIONSHIP

Introduced By: Senator P Fogarty

Date Introduced: May 03, 2016

Referred To: Recommended for Immediate Consideration

WHEREAS, The Burrillville Boys' Hockey team, the defending State Champions, 1 2 entered the 2016 State Championship Tournament as a very confident team after completing the 3 regular season with an undefeated 13-0-2 divisional record; and 4 WHEREAS, Burrillville began its quest to repeat as State Champions when they faced The Prout School in the State Tournament semi-finals, with Burrillville emerging as the victors of 5 a tough three game series, winning the deciding third game by the score of 2-1 in overtime; and 6 7 WHEREAS, In the State Finals, Burrillville faced arch-rival Cumberland and repeated as State Champions after winning the first two games in thrilling fashion, winning the first game by 8 9 the score of 2-1 and the second game by the score of 3-2 in a shootout. Burrillville was led by 10 series MVP, Goalie Bryan McConnell who made 32 saves in the first game, and made the biggest 11 save of the series in the second game shootout when he denied Cumberland on their fifth shootout 12 shot; and 13 WHEREAS, Winning a State Championship in a team sport is a difficult feat, one 14 requiring that every member of the team give their all and unselfishly put team goals ahead of 15 personal aspirations. The Burrillville Broncos Boys' Hockey Team had those qualities in abundance as they were led all season by the significant contributions provided by Captains Tyler 16 J. Kearney and Riley Tupper, along with players Joseph Baffoni, Cameron Doherty, Nicholas 17 18 Gervais, Sam Hayden, Colin McCarthy, Matthew McClure, Adam Palumbo, Andrew Peck,

Benjamin Round, Hunter Soderi, Anthony Surro, Jacob A. Zazza, William D. Robinson, Bryan T.

- 1 McConnell, Casey Lambert, Jacob J. Salley, Samuel P. Hetu, Matthew P. Bianco, Tyler S.
- 2 Gustafson, Aaron A. Buxton, Andrew F. Godfrin, Michael P. Lamoureux, Christopher D.
- 3 Messier, Michael W. Keable, Colin M. Stone, Elliot Lafond, Kyle C. Pelletier, Conner Doherty,
- 4 Avery J. Tupper, Connor D. Chambers, Austin Boutiette, Matthew T. Gagne and Matthew J.
- 5 Heon. Burrillville also benefited all season by the exemplary leadership and coaching provided by
- 6 Head Coach William Robinson, and Volunteers Mark Derby, Dan Durand, Craig Koprusak, and
- 7 Dr. Matthew Stone; now, therefore be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That this Senate of the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
- 9 hereby congratulates the Burrillville Boys' Hockey Team on winning the 2016 Rhode Island
- 10 Division I State Championship; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
- 12 transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to William Robinson, Head Coach, Burrillville
- 13 Boys' Hockey Team.

LC005692

=======