LC02429

19

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2010

SENATE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE 25 FRESHMEN AT NORTH SMITHFIELD HIGH SCHOOL FOR WINNING THE RHODE ISLAND "WE THE PEOPLE" COMPETITION

Introduced By: Senators Tassoni, P Fogarty, Cote, Gallo, and Metts

Date Introduced: April 13, 2010

Referred To: Senate read and passed

WHEREAS, "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution Competition" is 1 sponsored by the Center for Civic Education and is a yearly competition held in Washington, DC, 2 for American high school students. Teams are divided into six units, each comprised of three or 3 4 more members, and each team focuses on a particular area of Constitutional interest; and WHEREAS, On March 6, 2010, at Cranston West High School a group of 25 freshmen 5 from North Smithfield High School, under the guidance of honors American Government teacher 6 7 Mrs. Natalie O'Brien, competed against students from four area high schools to win the "We the 8 People" Competition. Since September, the freshmen class had labored for countless hours to 9 study the Constitution, its founding principles, and its historical and modern applications; and 10 WHEREAS, The competition requires that students deliver a prepared statement on a 11 specific Constitutional topic and answer a series of questions asked by a panel of judges. The 12 students prepare for a wide variety of potential follow-up questions, are not allowed to use any 13 materials, and are not aware of the questions they will be asked until they are posed. The students are required to develop the important skills of thinking critically and quickly; and 14 WHEREAS, As a result of their victory on March 6th, this class will travel to 15 Washington, DC, from April 23rd through April 27th to represent Rhode Island in the National 16 17 Finals; now, therefore be it RESOLVED, That this Senate of the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 18

hereby extends our congratulations to the following 25 freshmen students of North Smithfield

- 1 High School: Tiana Ahmed, Robert Beaven, David Cavallaro, Richard Cenedella, Evan Dalton,
- 2 Pamela Denomme, Devon Dube, Lilli Forti, Tara Larson, Miranda MacDonald, Kaitlin Mariotti,
- 3 Mathew Meagher, Rebecca Metivier, Tristan O'Hara, Aidan O'Malley, Brittany Papineau, Dana
- 4 Paux, Derek Peirce, Erik Pelletier, Morgan Quinley, Cameron Stone, Keila Strick, Walker Strick,
- 5 Sara Sutherland, and William Thurley for winning the Rhode Island "We the People"
- 6 Competition, and we wish this hard-working class the best of luck in the National Competition;
- 7 and be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and he hereby is authorized and directed to
- 9 transmit duly certified copies of this resolution to the 25 freshmen of North Smithfield High
- 10 School representing Rhode Island in the "We the People" Competition.

LC02429
