LC002235

2015 -- S 0731

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2015

SENATE RESOLUTION

RECOGNIZING AND COMMENDING MEMBERS OF PACK 17 BLACKROCK, COVENTRY, ON ACHIEVING THE HIGHEST HONOR IN CUB SCOUTING, THE ARROW OF LIGHT AWARD

Introduced By: Senator Leonidas P. Raptakis

Date Introduced: March 19, 2015

Referred To: Recommended for Immediate Consideration

1 WHEREAS, It is fitting and essential that we honor the youth of today, our future 2 leaders, for their achievements and displays of the ideals and values we all cherish; and

WHEREAS, The Arrow of Light Award is the pinnacle of achievement in Cub Scouting.
It is earned by young Webelos Scouts that are active participants in a Cub Scout den and have

5 shown that they are ready to join a Boy Scout troop; and

WHEREAS, To earn this high honor a young Webelos Scout must be active in a Webelos 6 7 den for six months since completing the fourth grade or at least six months since turning ten. He must also be able to show and display his knowledge of the requirements to be a Boy Scout and 8 9 earn a minimum of five more activity badges, in addition to the three required to be a Webelos 10 Scout. Furthermore, he must either visit one Boy Scout meeting or participate in one Boy Scout 11 outdoor activity, and finally, he must participate in a Webelos overnight campout or day hike; and 12 WHEREAS, Learning important lifelong skills and values, and displaying at an early age 13 the character and leadership traits essential to be a leader, Benjamin Almagno, Zackary Noe, John 14 Aubin, Benjamin Simmons, Nicholas Simmons, Ethan Contardo, Christopher Jennings, Jared Vadeboncoeur, Carter Loiselle, William Sullivan, Thomas Luther, Ryan Fogell, Owen Morelli, 15 Christopher Bibeau, and Deven Vinagre have earned the Arrow of Light Award and are worthy of 16 17 our recognition and commendation; now, therefore be it

18 RESOLVED, That this Senate of the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
19 hereby recognizes and commends these young men of Pack 17 Blackrock, Coventry, on

1 achieving the highest honor in Cub Scouting, the Arrow of Light Award; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
transmit duly certified copies of this resolution to Benjamin Almagno, Zackary Noe, John Aubin,
Benjamin Simmons, Nicholas Simmons, Ethan Contardo, Christopher Jennings, Jared
Vadeboncoeur, Carter Loiselle, William Sullivan, Thomas Luther, Ryan Fogell, Owen Morelli,
Christopher Bibeau, and Deven Vinagre.

LC002235