LC00437

2011 -- S 0117

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2011

AN ACT

RELATING TO COURTS AND CIVIL PROCEDURE - COURTS - DISTRICT COURT

Introduced By: Senators McCaffrey, and Lynch

Date Introduced: January 27, 2011

Referred To: Senate Judiciary

It is enacted by the General Assembly as follows:

- 1 SECTION 1. Section 8-8-2 of the General Laws in Chapter 8-8 entitled "District Court"
- 2 is hereby amended to read as follows:
- 3 <u>8-8-2. Divisions. --</u> (a) For the distribution of court business, the state is divided into six
- 4 (6) four (4) divisions as follows:
- 5 (1) First division. The first division consists of Bristol county.
- 6 (2)(1) Second division. The second division consists of Newport county the city of
- 7 Newport and the towns of Jamestown, Little Compton, Middletown, Portsmouth, and Tiverton.
- 8 Appeals and transfers in cases arising in the enumerated cities and towns of the second division
- 9 shall be transmitted by the clerk of the Second Division District Court to the clerk of the Newport
- 10 <u>County Superior Court</u>.
- 11 (3)(2) Third division. The third division consists of Kent county the city of Warwick
 12 and the city of Cranston and the towns of Johnston, Scituate, and Foster Coventry, East
 13 Greenwich, Foster, Glocester, Johnston, Lincoln, North Kingstown, North Providence, North
- 14 <u>Smithfield, Scituate, Smithfield, West Greenwich and West Warwick. Appeals and transfers in</u>
- 15 cases arising in the enumerated cities and towns of the third division shall be transmitted by the
- 16 clerk of the Third Division District Court to the clerk of the Kent County Superior Court.
- 17 (4)(3) Fourth division. The fourth division consists of Washington county the towns of
- 18 Charlestown, Exeter, Hopkinton, Narragansett, New Shoreham, Richmond, South Kingstown,
- 19 and Westerly. Appeals and transfers in cases arising in the enumerated cities and towns of the

1 <u>fourth division shall be transmitted by the clerk of the Fourth Division District Court to the clerk</u>

2 <u>of the Washington County Superior Court</u>.

3 (5)(4) Fifth division. The fifth division consists of the cities of Woonsocket, Pawtucket, 4 and Central Falls and the towns of Lincoln, Cumberland, Burrillville, Glocester, Smithfield, 5 North Providence, and North Smithfield. 6 (6)(5) Sixth division. - The sixth division consists of the city of Providence and the city 7 of East Providence cities of Central Falls, East Providence, Providence, Pawtucket, Woonsocket and the towns of Barrington, Bristol, Burrillville, Cumberland and Warren. Appeals and transfers 8 9 in cases arising in the enumerated cities and towns of the sixth division shall be transmitted by the 10 clerk of the Sixth Division District Court to the clerk of the Providence County Superior Court. 11 (b) In each division the place or places for holding court shall be designated by the chief 12 judge. 13 (c) The district court shall have a seal for each of its divisions, which shall contain the 14 words, "District court of the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, division." 15 SECTION 2. This act shall take effect upon passage and be implemented by order of the 16 Chief Judge of the District Court.

LC00437

EXPLANATION

BY THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

OF

AN ACT

RELATING TO COURTS AND CIVIL PROCEDURE - COURTS - DISTRICT COURT

1		This act would reduce the number of divisions of the district court from six (6) to four
2	(4).	
3		This act would take effect upon passage and be implemented by order of the Chief Judge

4 of the District Court.

LC00437