LC005454

## STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

### IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

#### **JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2024**

#### HOUSE RESOLUTION

# COMMEMORATING "MEDAL OF HONOR DAY" ON MARCH 25, 2024, IN THE STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

<u>Introduced By:</u> Representatives Azzinaro, Shekarchi, Blazejewski, Chippendale, McEntee, O'Brien, Kennedy, Ajello, Fellela, and Ackerman <u>Date Introduced:</u> March 21, 2024

Referred To: House read and passed

1	WHEREAS, The Medal of Honor is the highest and most prestigious military decoration
2	in the United States. It is awarded by the President of the United States, in the name of Congress,
3	"to members of the armed forces who have distinguished themselves conspicuously by their
4	gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of their lives above and beyond the call of duty"; and
5	WHEREAS, There are three distinct versions of the Medal of Honor. The United States
6	Navy introduced its version in 1861, which is awarded to members of the United States Navy, the
7	Marine Corps and the Coast Guard. The United States Army introduced its version in 1862, and
8	the United States Air Force introduced its version in 1965. Prior to 1965, members of the Air
9	Force received the United States Army version of the Medal of Honor; and
10	WHEREAS, "Medal of Honor Day" is a federal holiday that was established to honor the
11	heroism and sacrifice of Medal of Honor recipients. It was created when President George H. W.
12	Bush signed Public Law 101-564 on November 15, 1990; and
13	WHEREAS, Rhode Island has the distinction of having thirty-five of its citizens receive
14	the Medal of Honor. These heroic men were, from the Civil War, Lieutenant William B. Avery,
15	(Navy), Sergeant William J. Babcock, (Army), Corporal James A. Barber, (Army), Captain
16	George M. Bliss, (Army), Colonel Zenas R. Bliss, (Army), Lieutenant John K. Bucklyn, (Army),
17	Sergeant James H. Burbank, (Army), Corporal Benjamin H. Child, (Army), Private John
18	Corcoran, (Army), Captain of the Top John Edwards, (Navy), Private Charles D. Ennis, (Army),
19	Sergeant John H. Havron, (Army), Coxswain Thomas Hayes, (Navy), Corporal Samuel E. Lewis,

1	(Army), Private George E. McDonald, (Army), Sergeant Archibald Molbone, (Army), Corporal
2	Thomas Parker, (Army), Private George W. Potter, (Army), Seaman George E. Read (Navy),
3	Private Joseph Taylor, (Army), Lieutenant Edward P. Tobie, (Army), and Private James Welsh,
4	(Army). The Medal of Honor recipients from the Indian Campaign are Sergeant John S. Lawton,
5	(Army), and Private Owen McGar (Army). The Medal of Honor recipients from the Interim
6	Period are Gunner's Mate 3rd Class Petty Officer, John Davis (Navy), Boatswain's Mate
7	Matthew Gillick, (Navy), Seaman Philip Moore, (Navy), and Machinist's Mate Chief Petty
8	Officer, Michael Walsh, (Navy). The Medal of Honor recipient from the Mexican Campaign is
9	Gunner's Mate Chief Petty Officer, George Bradley, (Navy). The Medal of Honor recipient from
10	World War I is Machinist's Mate Chief Petty Officer, Francis Edward Ormsbee, Jr., (Navy). The
11	Medal of Honor recipient from the Interim Period between World Wars I and II is Gunner's Mate
12	Chief Petty Officer, Thomas Eadie, (Navy). The Medal of Honor recipients from World War II
13	are Sergeant William G. Fournier, (Army), Private George G. Peters, (Army), and Lieutenant
14	Robert T. Waugh, (Army), and the Medal of Honor recipient from the Korean War is Corporal
15	David B. Champagne, (United States Marine Corps); now, therefore be it
16	RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island hereby
17	commemorates "Medal of Honor Day" and all its heroic recipients on March 25, 2024; and be it
18	further
19	RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
20	transmit duly certified copies of this resolution to the Honorable Daniel McKee, Governor of the
21	State of Rhode Island, Mr. Kasim Yarn, Director, Rhode Island Office of Veterans Affairs, and
22	Major General Christopher Callahan, Rhode Island Adjutant General.

LC005454