## THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

## HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 392 Session of 2017

INTRODUCED BY CONKLIN, BENNINGHOFF, HANNA, IRVIN, BARBIN,
BERNSTINE, BIZZARRO, V. BROWN, BURNS, CALTAGIRONE, D. COSTA,
SCHLEGEL CULVER, DAVIS, DeLUCA, DIGIROLAMO, EVERETT, GABLER,
GERGELY, GODSHALL, GREINER, HAHN, KAUFFMAN, KORTZ, LONGIETTI,
MACKENZIE, MILLARD, B. MILLER, O'NEILL, PASHINSKI, ROTHMAN,
RYAN, SAYLOR, SCHLOSSBERG, SCHWEYER, SONNEY, THOMAS, VITALI,
WARD AND MURT, JUNE 12, 2017

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, JUNE 12, 2017

## A RESOLUTION

Congratulating The Pennsylvania State University Women's Indoor 1 Track and Field team for winning the Big Ten Championship on 2 February 25, 2017. 3 4 WHEREAS, The Pennsylvania State University Women's Indoor 5 Track and Field team won the 2017 Big Ten Indoor Track and Field 6 Championship by posting two individual titles and claiming one 7 relay to secure the Penn State Nittany Lions' fourth Big Ten 8 Championship and the first since 2014; and 9 WHEREAS, The championship team tallied 96.5 points defeating its next closest competitor, Purdue, by 2.5 points; and 10 11 WHEREAS, The women's Big Ten championship, paired with the 12 men's second-place finish, is the highest combined finish in 13 Penn State track and field history; and 14 WHEREAS, Dannielle Gibson captured the women's triple jump 15 title with a mark of 43' 4" (13.25m) to become only the second

1 Penn State athlete to win the event at the Big Ten Conference; 2 and WHEREAS, Penn State recorded the first-place finish from 3 Danae Rivers in the 800-meter run; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Quenee Dale ran her fastest ever time in the 60 meter hurdles, posting a time of 8.21 seconds, ranking third in 6 team history; and 7 WHEREAS, In his third season as coach of the Nittany Lions, 8 9 John Gondak claimed his second conference title; and 10 WHEREAS, Coach John Gondak is the Big Ten Coach of the Year; therefore be it 11 12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives congratulate The 13 Pennsylvania State University Women's Indoor Track and Field

14 team for winning the Big Ten Championship of 2017.