Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 24

Sponsored by Senator JOHNSON

Whereas Lewis Linn McArthur was born on May 22, 1917, in Portland, Oregon, to Lewis Ankeny McArthur and Polly Hewett McArthur; and

Whereas Lew McArthur graduated from Lincoln High School in Portland in 1934; and

Whereas in 1938, Lew McArthur graduated from the University of California at Berkeley with an undergraduate degree in economics; and

Whereas after graduation, Lew McArthur worked for the Columbia Steel Company in Portland; and

Whereas Lew McArthur served in the United States Army during World War II, including duty in the Aleutian Islands; and

Whereas Lew McArthur was discharged from the Army in 1945 with the rank of major, and he was later promoted to lieutenant colonel in the Army Reserve; and

Whereas from 1946 to 1986, Lew McArthur was a construction executive for the Ray F. Becker Company in Portland, specializing in light steel construction; and

Whereas in 1946, Lew McArthur married Joyce Abigail Clark, and they raised a family of four children and two grandchildren; and

Whereas in 1970, Oregon Governor Tom McCall appointed Lew McArthur to the State Advisory Committee on Historic Preservation, and he served in that capacity until 1981; and

Whereas Lew McArthur had a prominent role in the restoration of the Columbia River Highway from the early days of that project, and he served as chairman of the Historic Columbia River Highway Advisory Committee; and

Whereas Lew McArthur was a member of the Oregon Geographic Names Board from 1958 to 2006; and

Whereas Lew McArthur followed in the footsteps of his father in documenting the place names of this state by compiling and publishing the landmark reference book, *Oregon Geographic Names*; and

Whereas like his father, Lew McArthur made generous and significant contributions to our understanding of Oregon's history, and he was responsible for preparing the fourth (1974), fifth (1982), sixth (1992) and seventh (2003) editions of this beloved and classic book; and

Whereas the seventh edition of *Oregon Geographic Names* contains an astounding 6,252 entries, covering every nook and cranny of the state, from A B Crossing to Zwagg Island; and

Whereas Lew McArthur believed that place names are integral to our understanding of history and to how we think of our own localities; and

Whereas Lew McArthur's daughter, Mary McArthur, is continuing the family tradition by working on the forthcoming eighth edition of *Oregon Geographic Names*; and

Whereas Lew McArthur was a longtime member of the Oregon Historical Society, the American Name Society and the Canadian Society for the Study of Names; and

Whereas in 2005, the American Association for State and Local History recognized Lew McArthur with a merit award for individual achievement; and

Whereas Lew McArthur was an avid mountaineer who climbed many of North America's highest peaks, and he was a longtime member of the American Alpine Club and the Alpine Club of Canada; and

Whereas Lew McArthur enjoyed traveling around Oregon and, in the words of his daughter Mary, he loved "the whole idea of being connected to our history and the people"; and

Whereas Lew McArthur passed away on August 29, 2018; and

Whereas Lew McArthur will be remembered as a Renaissance man with rare intellectual gifts, who embraced technology and innovation but was captivated by the past; and

Whereas Lew McArthur left his mark on the State of Oregon through his devoted efforts to ensure that our place names reflect the authentic history of Oregon, including the history of Native Americans; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eightieth Legislative Assembly, celebrate the life and accomplishments of Lewis Linn McArthur, and we recognize and honor his contributions to the people of this state; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution shall be presented to the family of Lew McArthur as an expression of our sympathy and condolences.

Adopted by Senate April 11, 2019

Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate

Peter Courtney, President of Senate

Adopted by House May 29, 2019

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House