Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 212

Sponsored by Senator WAGNER, Representative RAYFIELD, Senator GELSER BLOUIN; Senators FREDERICK, GOLDEN, JAMA, MANNING JR, PROZANSKI, Representatives EVANS, GOMBERG, GRAYBER, NELSON, NOSSE (Presession filed.)

Whereas Clifford W. Trow was born in Topeka, Kansas, on July 27, 1929; and

Whereas in 1951, Clifford Trow graduated with high honors from Kansas Wesleyan University and promptly embarked upon a career as a high school social studies teacher; and

Whereas Clifford Trow resumed his schooling later in the decade, graduating with a Master of Arts from the University of Colorado in 1958, and eight years later he completed his PhD, also from the University of Colorado; and

Whereas following the completion of his PhD, Clifford Trow moved to Oregon, where he assumed a position on the history faculty at Oregon State University; and

Whereas as an academic, Clifford Trow's research interests included the presidency of Woodrow Wilson as well as American foreign policy in Mexico and elsewhere; and

Whereas not long after his arrival in Corvallis, Oregon, in 1965, Clifford Trow met Jo Anne Johnson, and in 1969 the couple married; and

Whereas in 1972, Clifford Trow received the Binkley-Stephenson Award from the Organization of American Historians for his paper "Woodrow Wilson and the Mexican Interventionist Movement of 1919," published in the Journal of American History; and

Whereas Clifford Trow remained on staff at Oregon State University for more than thirty years, retiring in 1996; and

Whereas Clifford Trow was active in Democratic Party politics from his days in Colorado, and he ran for the Oregon Senate in 1970, losing the District 18 race to incumbent Dick Hoyt; and

Whereas undeterred, Clifford Trow ran again four years later, this time winning the Senate seat and beginning a period of service in the Oregon Senate that would last for nearly three decades until his retirement in 2003; and

Whereas as a steadfast supporter of education, Clifford Trow served on the Senate Education Committee for eight sessions, including five as chair; and

Whereas in 1979, Clifford Trow was recognized as Education Senator of the Year by the Oregon Education Association, and was similarly honored as Senator of the Year by the Oregon Library Association in both 1991 and 1993; and

Whereas Clifford Trow was a member of numerous additional legislative committees, chairing Senate Ways and Means in 1993 and subcommittees of Ways and Means from 1985 to 1991; and

Whereas Clifford Trow was elected President Pro Tempore of the Oregon Senate in 1981 and served as Senate Democratic Leader from 1995 to 1998; and

Whereas in 2002, on the eve of his retirement from elected office, Clifford Trow was honored by the City of Corvallis, which declared December 16th to be "Cliff Trow Day"; and

Whereas Clifford Trow and his beloved wife, Jo Anne, remained active in retirement, devoting their energies to numerous civic groups including Oregon State University's Academy for Lifelong Learning, which he cofounded, as well as the Benton County Historical Society and the Old Mill Center for Children and Families; and

Whereas Clifford Trow passed away on October 31, 2023; and

Whereas Clifford Trow is remembered as a man of principle and integrity, as a devoted and supportive husband, as a committed champion for social justice, and as a model of a dedicated public servant who left the world a better place; now, therefore,

Enrolled Senate Concurrent Resolution 212 (SCR 212-INTRO)

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eighty-second Legislative Assembly, recognize and honor Clifford W. Trow for his lifetime of service and dedication to the people of the State of Oregon; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution shall be presented to the family of Clifford W. Trow as an expression of our sympathy and condolences.

Adopted by Senate February 26, 2024

Obadiah Rutledge, Secretary of Senate

Rob Wagner, President of Senate

Adopted by House March 5, 2024

Dan Rayfield, Speaker of House