## **Senate Concurrent Resolution 209**

Sponsored by Senator HANSELL

## **SUMMARY**

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure **as introduced.** 

Commends 2020 Rose Bowl champion University of Oregon Ducks football team for outstanding season.

1	CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
2	Whereas the 2019 University of Oregon (UO) Ducks football team capped an outstanding regular

season by being crowned the Pac-12 Conference North Division champions, earning a spot in the

4 Pac-12 title game; and

5 6

7

8 9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16 17

18 19

20 21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

Whereas on December 6, 2019, UO trounced the University of Utah by a score of 37-15, earning the Ducks their 12th conference football championship and their first since 2014; and

Whereas the Pac-12 champion Ducks received an invitation to play the University of Wisconsin Badgers in the 106th Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California; and

Whereas on January 1, 2020, the Ducks edged the Badgers 28-27 in a dramatic and fiercely fought contest watched by more than 90,000 spectators and a national television audience; and

Whereas the Rose Bowl championship was the fourth in UO football history; and

Whereas UO senior quarterback Justin Herbert and junior safety Brady Breeze were named the Rose Bowl's most valuable players; and

Whereas in just his second full season leading the program, UO head coach Mario Cristobal was named the Associated Press Pac-12 coach of the year; and

Whereas Cristobal is the third head coach in UO football history to win 12 games in a single season; and

Whereas Herbert was named the winner of the prestigious William V. Campbell Trophy, which annually honors the college football player in the nation who best combines academic excellence, community service and on-field performance; and

Whereas Herbert, who achieved a 4.01 grade point average as a General Science major, became the first UO player to be named the Pac-12 Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year; and

Whereas sophomore offensive tackle Penei Sewell was named the winner of the Outland Trophy, presented to the nation's outstanding interior lineman, becoming the first UO player to win that award; and

Whereas Sewell was also a unanimous first team All-American, just the third Duck football player to ever achieve that distinction; and

Whereas senior offensive linemen Calvin Throckmorton and Shane Lemieux were also named to All-American teams; and

Whereas defensive lineman Kayvon Thibodeaux and cornerback Verone McKinley III were named to freshman All-American teams; and

**NOTE:** Matter in **boldfaced** type in an amended section is new; matter [*italic and bracketed*] is existing law to be omitted. New sections are in **boldfaced** type.

Whereas Sewell, Breeze, Lemieux, senior linebacker Troy Dye and sophomore running back CJ

1

17

18

2	Verdell were named to the All-Pac-12 teams; and
3	Whereas the UO defense held six opponents to single-digit scoring totals, which tied for the best
4	mark in the nation; and
5	Whereas the UO offense and defense both finished the season with high national rankings in
6	proficiency, a testament to the balance that fueled the team's success; and
7	Whereas the Ducks played in a bowl game for the 14th time in 15 seasons, a remarkable record
8	of sustained success for the program; and
9	Whereas UO players and coaches exhibited outstanding character and sportsmanship on and off
10	the playing field all season, and they were leaders on campus and in the community; and
11	Whereas the Ducks thrilled fans around the nation with their skill and the never-say-die spirit
12	that led them to numerous comeback wins with late-game heroics; and
13	Whereas the Ducks ended their outstanding season ranked fifth in the final national polls; now,
14	therefore,
15	Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:
16	That we, the members of the Eightieth Legislative Assembly, commend the exemplary achieve-

ments of the 2020 Rose Bowl champions, the University of Oregon. Go Ducks!

[2]