## Enrolled

## **Senate Concurrent Resolution 2**

Printed pursuant to Senate Interim Rule 213.28 by order of the President of the Senate in conformance with presession filing rules, indicating neither advocacy nor opposition on the part of the President (at the request of Senate Interim Committee on Veterans and Emergency Preparedness)

Whereas Corporal Jimmy Erik Floren was born on July 23, 1946, in Klamath Falls, Oregon; and Whereas Corporal Floren graduated from Klamath Union High School in 1964; and

Whereas Corporal Floren attended university and studied architecture for two years before enlisting in the United States Marine Corps in August 1966; and

Whereas Corporal Floren began his tour in Vietnam in March 1967 and served as a fire squad leader in H Company, 2nd Battalion, 5th Marines, 1st Marine Division; and

Whereas on November 6, 1967, Corporal Floren, while under intense enemy fire, selflessly went to the aid of a wounded comrade, then proceeded to single-handedly operate a machine gun position after its crew was wounded; and

Whereas Corporal Floren continued to operate the machine gun from an exposed position until he was wounded and the gun was disabled, whereupon he proceeded to fire a grenade launcher at the enemy until he was killed in action; and

Whereas for his gallant actions on November 6, Corporal Floren was posthumously awarded the Navy Cross, the nation's second-highest decoration for valor in combat; and

Whereas Corporal Floren also received the Silver Star, the nation's third-highest decoration for valor in combat; and

Whereas Corporal Floren is buried in Klamath Falls and honored on the Vietnam Veterans Memorial; and

Whereas Corporal Floren was survived by his parents, Axel and Gladys, and his three sisters; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eightieth Legislative Assembly, recognize and honor Corporal Jimmy Erik Floren for his service to his country.

Adopted by Senate February 21, 2019

Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate

Peter Courtney, President of Senate

Adopted by House May 29, 2019

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House