Senate Bill 747

Sponsored by Senators THOMSEN, HANSELL, Representatives PILUSO, SMITH G; Senators BAERTSCHIGER JR, BOQUIST, ROBLAN, THATCHER, Representatives EVANS, MCLANE, NOBLE, WILLIAMS, WITT

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure **as introduced.**

Establishes TriMet Crash Advisory Committee. Provides that committee shall review certain crashes involving TriMet vehicles that result in injury or fatality. Requires committee to assess causes of such crashes, make recommendations to prevent similar crashes and submit quarterly report on findings to Transportation Safety Committee. Requires TriMet to provide meeting space and staff support to TriMet Crash Advisory Committee.

A BILL FOR AN ACT

2 Relating to the TriMet Crash Advisory Committee.

1

6

7

8

9

10

11

15

16

17

18 19

20

21 22

23

24

25

26

27

28 29

- Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:
- <u>SECTION 1.</u> (1) The TriMet Crash Advisory Committee is established, consisting of 10 members appointed by the Transportation Safety Committee as follows:
 - (a) One member who represents the Governor's office on transportation safety matters.
 - (b) One member who has experience in transportation engineering or planning.
 - (c) One member who represents an advocacy group promoting the interests of users of public transit.
 - (d) One member who represents an advocacy group promoting walking.
 - (e) One member who represents an advocacy group promoting bicycling.
- 12 (f) One member who serves on the board of directors of TriMet.
- 13 (g) One member with professional experience as a commercial driver or operator of a 14 mass transit vehicle.
 - (h) One member with professional experience as a civil or criminal attorney.
 - (i) One member who has knowledge of Vision Zero policies.
 - (j) One member who represents the City of Portland.
 - (2) The term of office of each member is four years. Before the expiration of the term of a member, the Transportation Safety Committee shall appoint a successor. A member is eligible for reappointment. In case of a vacancy for any cause, the Transportation Safety Committee shall appoint a person to fill the office for the unexpired term.
 - (3) A majority of the members of the TriMet Crash Advisory Committee constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business.
 - (4) Official action by the committee requires the approval of a majority of the members of the committee.
 - (5) The committee shall elect one of its members to serve as chairperson.
 - (6)(a) As described in this subsection, the committee shall review crashes involving TriMet vehicles that result in injury or fatality. The committee may decline to review certain crashes or categories of crashes.

- (b) For each crash under its review, the committee shall independently assess the causes of the crash and make recommendations to prevent similar crashes, which may include proposals for legislation, changes to policies of TriMet or other public bodies, infrastructure modifications or public education campaigns.
- (c) The committee shall present its findings and recommendations in a quarterly report. The committee shall submit each quarterly report to the Transportation Safety Committee.
- (7) Members of the TriMet Crash Advisory Committee are not entitled to compensation or reimbursement for expenses and serve as volunteers on the committee.
- (8) All agencies of state government, as defined in ORS 174.111, and TriMet shall assist the committee in the performance of its duties and, to the extent permitted by laws relating to confidentiality, furnish such information and advice as the members of the committee consider necessary to perform their duties.
 - (9) TriMet shall provide the committee with necessary meeting space and staff support.
- (10) As used in this section, "TriMet" means the Tri-County Metropolitan Transportation District of Oregon, a mass transit district created under ORS chapter 267.

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

10

11 12

13

14 15